Skip to content

The Triple Crown

December 7, 2011

I started this style by creating  the bottom roll like I did with the Fence hairstyle.   After, a few unsuccessful attempts at styling the remaining hair, I ending up playing around with it to see how many roll layers I could create.  Since, I had the base roll as the foundation, it wasn’t difficult to set the second layer on top of it.  I used my fingers to section off enough hair for another roll and twisted a small elastic around the remaining small section of hair at the top to keep it out of the way.  Making sure to have a lot of hairpins on hand, I created a roll just like the base roll all the way around.  The top layer was a bit trickier since that section of hair was considerably smaller.  However, after some mangling I was able to smooth it around similar to the other rolls.  It looks more like a bun because of its smaller size.

I didn’t know exactly what I was going to do when I started this style (as is often the case).  I just go with it and play around a bit.  Be flexible when trying any of the styles found on this blog and practice.

*See comments for more instructions.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Patience permalink
    December 8, 2011 5:07 am

    That is precious! I need step by step instructions, please.

    • Regina permalink*
      December 8, 2011 6:57 am

      Thanks Patience. The instructions for most of these rolls are in earlier posts in the hairstyling section. But…
      1. Use a kneee high (or whatever you use) to create a puff.
      2. Using your fingers, section of enough hair all around for the base roll. (See what that step looks like in the post for hairstyle The Fence.)
      3. Sections at a time, strech the hair around and pin down. Don’t roll hair under. It fakes volume to just pull hair to the side, hold in place and pin down. (hmmm I’m just realizing that maybe it was a bit misleading to call them rolls. The finished product only looks like a roll.)
      4. Section off enough hair for the second “roll” and use same techinique. Stick the hair pins in between the “rolls” carefully. You should aim to pin the hair down to the root of that “roll”. Don’t pin it to the base “roll”.
      5. The small section that is left on the top can be manuevered in a similar fashion to create a thrid “roll” or bun. It may be different for everyone. Just tuck and strech until it resemebles a bun of sorts. In my opinion, it’s ok in this layer to tuck or roll under if you have a bit of length since this section will look a bit different then the first two due to its smaller size. (This was the hardest level of the crown for me.)

      If you want any more details. Please feel free to ask. Thank you for commenting. :)

  2. December 8, 2011 7:00 am

    Your hairstyles always make me smile. You are THE updo queen:)

    • Regina permalink*
      December 8, 2011 7:05 am

      Thank You JC. I will gladly take that title. I absolutely love Updos. As you can see. :)

  3. mangomadness permalink
    December 8, 2011 7:22 am

    I love it! It looks like a work of art. Thnks for the pics, post and instructions!

    • Regina permalink*
      December 8, 2011 10:26 am

      Thank you Mango. A woman on the train the other day said the same thing. I don’t mind my hair being called a work of art at all. Thanks for viewing!

  4. December 10, 2011 5:36 pm

    Lovely- now i’m upset that i’ve got no hair to play with. I’m growing my hair now though. we are at an inch now. Wearing a wig for that really annoying in between stage where it’s too short for a twa or twists or even braids :-)

    • Regina permalink*
      December 10, 2011 5:48 pm

      Thanks. Keep on growing!

  5. Savannah permalink
    December 16, 2011 4:58 pm

    I love all of your updos. I was just thinking about stacking buns or rolls and I click over here and voila! Thanks for all the ideas and inspiration.

    • Regina permalink*
      December 16, 2011 7:03 pm

      Glad you like them. Thanks for viewing!

Leave a Reply

