Skip to content

Natural Hair: Ages 12 and Under?

September 7, 2011

Has anyone given you the impression or straight up told you that natural hair was for children?  An ex of mine wasn’t diggin’ the natural (always thought that was weird since I had a TWA when we met but anyhoo).  According to him, natural hair was “for kids”.  As you can see, my natural continued to win my affections, but I’m not talking about relationship drama due to going natural or being natural.  I’m simply curious as to why kinks, curls and coils would be deemed acceptable only until a certain age.

I think this point of view is still alive for many and it perplexes me.  Anyone deal with this directly?  Anecdotes?  Thoughts?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 7, 2011 11:22 am

    I never encountered this viewpoint in real life. With that said, I think it stems from the fact that many little girls of African descent got their first relaxer at the age of ten/eleven/twelve as a “rite of passage” into womanhood. This is not my experience (I got my first relaxer at age five and contined to get them until age 17) but I could see how such a cultural practice would lead one to think natural hair was for children.

    • Regina permalink*
      September 7, 2011 1:24 pm

      Hi Mango. Thanks for responding. Yes, many women, including myself, got relaxers around that age. I was twelve.

  2. purpleafroprincess permalink
    September 8, 2011 3:45 pm

    And boys :-* Smh!
    I@ve not heard the ‘natural hair is for kids’ thing- just boys- i get- “but you’re such a nice looking girl”
    So now i’m ugly with my natural fro huh

    P.s. I’ve shaved off all my hair now- so it’s a twa and a wash and go! I hate to say it but i don’t miss all the hard work :-*

    • Regina permalink*
      September 8, 2011 5:38 pm

      Hey Purple. Well, I have heard the “now you look like a boy”. Smh too. Glad your twa is working for you. :)

  3. September 19, 2011 10:59 am

    I have heard of it. I’ve also heard natural hair is for artists but not for serious professionals.

    With natural hair, I have generally been mistaken for very young (14 is the worst so far!) but generally 19-21. I will be 30 next year. Strangely enough when I had straight hair or extension braids I was generally marked at close enough to my age or significantly older. Whenever I took out the braids it was back to the teen years lol.

    • Regina permalink*
      September 19, 2011 11:11 am

      Heeeey JC. Yes there is still a common idea that bohemian and artsy types can do naturals but not corporate. I can’t say that I have been mistaken for much younger than I am due to my natural hair. I’ve always been mistaken for a bit younger than my normal age whether my hair was straight or natural. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

