Skip to content

1 Style 24 Days

May 8, 2011

After 24 days, I decided that I’d stretched my last hairstyle more than long enough.  I took out my twist combo styled by Nedjetti last Wednesday.  Below are pics of the style just before I untwisted it and my hair just after removing the style.

To maintain the style, I always slept with  silk bonnet.  I didn’t want to use any water based products on my hair at first in order to preserve the blow-out so I only oiled my scalp with Jane Carter Solution Scalp Nourishing Serum.  I had only a little bit of the serum left so when it ran out, I continued oiling with jojoba oil.  I poured the jojoba oil into the serum bottle because it has an eyedropper applicator and oiling was much easier with it.  However, the blow-out was pretty much gone by the last week that I had this style, so there was no more need to avoid water-based products.  During this time, I just spritzed my hair with Oyin Handmade’s Juices and Berries when needed.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Merc permalink
    May 9, 2011 1:57 pm

    Look nice and thick. 24 days suits the style. Thanks for sharing.

    • Regina permalink*
      May 9, 2011 2:03 pm

      Thanks Merc. It did keep well. I think I took the style out at the right time.

  2. purpleafroprincess permalink
    May 10, 2011 2:48 pm

    I’m impressed. How did you wash it?
    My scalp hates fresh air/to be exposed (flakes all over the place) so i wouldn’t have managed more than 21 days and it would have been a darn site messier!
    well done!

    PAPx

    • Regina permalink*
      May 10, 2011 3:03 pm

      Hey PAP. Surprisingly, there weren’t any visable flakes. I did notice some flakes under the bun when I was removing the style. If I had noticed any sooner, I would have removed the style and shampooed. I didn’t shampoo during the course of this style. I only oiled when I felt my scalp looked a bit dry and later sprayed my hair with the J & B.

  3. June 3, 2011 3:43 am

    very helpful post!!!

    i am not someone who can wear a protective style longer than 4 days for two reasons: 1) I wash my hair weekly & also tea rinse and baggy during the week, and 2) I have aserious case of hand in hair disease and can’t keep my hands outta my hair – lol.

    seems to work for me, though.

    : )

    • Regina permalink*
      June 3, 2011 8:14 am

      Thanks. Lots of people are infected with hand in hair disease.
      :)

Leave a Reply

