Skip to content

Old Product, New Use

March 29, 2011

I’ve recently had to repurpose my Oyin Handmade Honey Hemp Hair Conditioner.  Since I’ve switched my leave-in conditioner to the brand’s Hair Dew, I needed to figure out what to do with the bottle I had left lingering in my fridge (for freshness).

I washed my hair the other day and decided to use the Honey Hemp as a deep conditioner.  I mixed some Honey Hemp (I never measure it ..I guess it’s about ¾ cup.) with the usual 2 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil.  It didn’t feel very smooth and soft during the application, but after sitting with a plastic cap and towel covering my hair for an hour, my hair felt soft to the touch when it was time to rinse. I’ll be finishing out my current bottle of Honey Hemp this way as it seems to do the trick.

Do you use Honey Hemp as a deep conditioner?  What’s in your mix?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2011 4:55 pm

    I do. I actually never used it as a leave-in, because I have other stuff I like for that. I usually just used it straight, no chaser. I really love the way it smells!

    • Regina permalink*
      March 30, 2011 8:24 am

      Thanks for sharing Nefertiti. I love the scent of it too. If your hair like olive oil, I would definitely recommend adding some to the condish for the deep treatment.

  2. Heather permalink
    March 30, 2011 9:04 pm

    I may have to try this mix on my next wash. Do you know of a place that would have a sample of the honey hemp before I make the investment? :)

    • Regina permalink*
      March 31, 2011 8:25 am

      Heather, Oyin’s website is the only place I know of that sells sample sizes. They offer a 2oz. mini bottle of Honey Hemp for $3.50.

Leave a Reply

