Skip to content

Adjusting to My Trim (Part Deux)

March 18, 2011

During my first wash just after my trim, I ended up doing something that I said I wouldn’t: wash my hair without twists.  I had no choice really my hair just would not stay twisted.  The ends were blunt and my attempts at creating chunky twists for shampooing failed.  They unraveled each time, so I hopped in the shower and shampooed anyway.

I made sure to wash and rinse my hair in sections (that was the most important factor) and, when needed, I combed through my hair with a seamless comb as the water was running down it.  I was forced to give the loose-hair shampooing a shot and it turns out that it’s not so bad after all.  I’ve been washing without twisting my hair first for the past couple of weeks.  Since I plan on keeping my ends well trimmed from now on I wonder will this be the method that works for me as I get back to my original length?  I’ll see.

 

Update:  I realized I didn’t tell you how I air-dried my tresses since you probably know by now that I air-dry my hair in twists as well.  After I applied all my sealing products, I twisted my hair and pinned the ends down so that they would stay.  I covered my hair with a satin scarf and let it air-dry overnight.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. purpleafroprincess permalink
    March 18, 2011 5:56 pm

    Hope it works for you. i tried the chunky twists but just couldn’t get my head round it- even though they did stay in. And i was my hair over the bath so being bent over for so long does my back in too.

    PAPxx

    • Regina permalink*
      March 19, 2011 8:25 am

      Yes. I totally understand. My back would be wrecked if I did that also.

  2. mangomadness permalink
    March 18, 2011 6:28 pm

    I use a hair tie on the ends of the big twists I wash my hair it. Maybe you could try that?

    • Regina permalink*
      March 19, 2011 8:26 am

      Thanks mango. But, I am forseeing some tangling with a hair tie on my ends while washing. Hmmm. I’ll think about it.

Leave a Reply

