Skip to content

The Bun

March 1, 2011

The other day, I wanted to do a Megaroll in the front of my hair and a Twist and Tuck to the remaining portion.  I knew that my length was still a bit lacking to do the Twist and Tuck as easily as before my last trim, but I gave it a shot anyway.  It didn’t work out in the long run but I did manage to get some sections of hair to tuck  under the knee-high  (Do I detect some growth?)  Long story short, I didn’t have a lot of time to fuss with my hair and with the Megaroll already completed, I decided to go with the flow and work with what I had already done.  Then, the Bun was born.

To create this lovely bun, I began by spreading the hair out around the knee-high and, in sections, I slightly held my hair down to keep it in place.   While holding it down with one hand, I secured  the hair with hairpins.  There was no rolling or tucking  involved, only holding the hair in place to fake volume.

One thing the Twist and Tuck has over the Bun is the absence of hairpins.  I do like to take a break from all the hairpins at times.  And, it helps to not have them in your hair if you are walking through airport metal detectors while traveling.  See the pics below:

17 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2011 9:52 am

    this is gorgeous…def trying it out

    • Regina permalink*
      March 2, 2011 9:55 am

      Hi. Thank you! Hope it works out.

  2. purpleafroprincess permalink
    March 2, 2011 3:56 pm

    Hiya
    Very nice.
    I will be trying this one probably this weekend as i know i can do both bits.
    Probably put in a shiny bobble or flower as it’s a night out.
    Have you seen the great article about natural hair in the winter New African Woman…loved it! The message is spreading :-)
    PAP

    • Regina permalink*
      March 2, 2011 3:57 pm

      Thanks. Would love to hear how your bun (and bobble) turn out. I’ll have to check out that article. Thanks again.

  3. Savannah permalink
    March 3, 2011 3:59 pm

    So cute! I may try something similar with a puff instead of a bun, still waiting on a little length!

    • Regina permalink*
      March 3, 2011 4:17 pm

      Thanks Savannah. Your idea would be cute!

  4. yoyo permalink
    March 4, 2011 7:08 am

    Great style, I really like the way your styles make use of the texture of very coily hair, mine is just like this and I will be trying this style soon. More styles please!

  5. mangomadness permalink
    March 6, 2011 6:01 am

    Nice! This is one of my fave styles.

  6. Jan permalink
    March 6, 2011 7:43 pm

    Love it! Gonna try to replicate because I’m getting tired/bored with my mini twists.

  7. Paige permalink
    March 22, 2011 5:00 am

    beautiful! looks very elegant

  8. lajuanda permalink
    April 12, 2011 3:10 am

    Hi! I love your styles, but I’m having a hard time understanding the megaroll. I’ve read every post that you describe it in, but am just not getting it. Any chance you have a video clip of you preparing the style?

    • Regina permalink*
      April 12, 2011 8:09 am

      Hello Lajuanda. Thanks! Extra tutorials are in the works.

    • mangomadness permalink
      April 12, 2011 8:37 am

      Here is a YouTube video of a similar, if not the same, bun: (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iAqqOF37zc0)

      • Regina permalink*
        April 12, 2011 8:57 am

        Thanks Mango!! I actually saw this video a long time ago. I forgot all about it. Or so I thought. This technique is definitely very close to mine. One difference: I use more hairpins instead of bobby pins. Thanks for the comment.

Leave a Reply

