Skip to content

The Gemini

January 21, 2011

Because of my current inability to recreate the Split Roll, I did a little experimenting and came up with the Gemini.  When I did this style, I was originally going to do two Megarolls in the top, but they just didn’t look right at the time and I really wanted a Spit Roll or something like it.  Unlike Megarolls, these  twin rolls are a little closer together and have a slight curve to them.

The basic technique is the same as any other rolls I’ve done.  First, I made a part from ear to ear.  Then, I made a slanted part in the top portion to create a section for each roll.  I smoothed the side up, held it taut and secured it with bobby pins.  Once the hair was secured, I rolled the hair down and held it in place with hairpins.  After the first roll was done,  I repeated the process on the other side.  The  main thing to be mindful of  is keeping the second roll very close to the first so there isn’t much space between the two.  The back is just one vertical roll.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. YaaSerwaa permalink
    January 23, 2011 4:34 pm

    Just tried this style on my hair and now that I’ve read more closely how you do your rolls using bobby pins first and then rolling it. It looks smooth and very neat, now I just need to learn how to leave it in for a few days.

    Yours looks great and I love the texture!

    • Regina permalink*
      January 23, 2011 6:40 pm

      Thank you. Great. I’m glad you got the hang of it! Check the post “Style Longevity” in the Hairstyling category it may help in making the styles last.

  2. purpleafroprincess permalink
    January 23, 2011 6:47 pm

    i tried it too this evening. think my hair is too short- not much to roll. It also ended up too loose as well, but i did manage to get the smooth side donw nice and smooth so at least i’ve got that part…suffer continue! i will get it…eventually!

    • Regina permalink*
      January 23, 2011 7:20 pm

      How long is your hair purpleafroprincess? Well, like you said, at least one step is down. You’re closer to the finish line. Don’t give up. Keep practicing.

      • purpleafroprincess permalink
        January 25, 2011 6:23 pm

        about 1cm long unstreched?
        Yup practise makes perfect!

      • purpleafroprincess permalink
        January 25, 2011 6:24 pm

        i mean 15cm oops!

      • Regina permalink*
        January 25, 2011 7:46 pm

        Ha ha. Oh ok I see about little more than 5 inches or so. Well, my hair is about 6 1/2 inches stretched at the moment (post trim) so you should be good I would think.

  3. mangomadness permalink
    January 24, 2011 3:54 pm

    I love this! Your updos are the best!

    • Regina permalink*
      January 24, 2011 4:02 pm

      Thanks Mango. I appreciate the compliment!

Leave a Reply

