Skip to content

It’s The Return of the Dry Scalp…but Hopefully Not for Long.

January 3, 2011

My dry, itchy, flaky scalp had returned at the tail-end of my holiday travels.  I noticed how dry my scalp was last week Thursday while flying back to NYC .  My scalp was very dry, but thankfully not super irritated.

Once I got home, out came my lovely hairstyle, created by Nedjetti, and I doused my hair and scalp with some coconut oil.  I left the oil in overnight (mainly because it was late) and the next day I applied an apple cider vinegar and conditioner (Trader Joe’s Nourish Spa to be exact.) mixture to my scalp.  This remedy helped during my last bout of dry scalp/dandruff.  I washed it off after about 30-40 minutes and washed my hair with castile soap shampoo.  I used Honey Hemp Hair Conditioner as a rinse out conditioner.  For a deep treatment, I mixed Aubrey Organics Honeysuckle Rose Moisturizing Conditioner with olive oil and sat with a plastic cap covering my hair for an hour.  I followed the rest of my wash routine as normal minus an additional ACV rinse.  My newly trimmed hair gave me no problems with tangles.

So far so good.  I don’t see any flakes and my scalp feels fine.  I may repeat this in a day or two for good measure.  Dry scalp you are banished!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2011 11:20 am

    I tend to suffer from dry scalp. It’s a lifelong battle, but to combat it, I oil my scalp with JBCO once a week while my bantu knots are air drying overnight. A day or two before wash day, the front gets itchy, but applying a little mango butter to the scalp alleviates itching almost instantly.

    • Regina permalink*
      January 4, 2011 11:35 am

      Hi napfrocurlzgirl. I’ve never tried straight mango butter. I am, however, currently using a hair butter that contains mango butter. I typically use JBCO on my scalp once a week, more or less, as well. Castor oil has agreed with my scalp quite well.

  2. purpleafroprincess permalink
    January 7, 2011 6:45 pm

    Must get my hands on this castor oil- i’ve been hearing nothing but good things about it lately.
    Does it have to be the jamaican black one?
    Also, Regina- hope you don’t mind me asking but do you mix the ACV with your conditioner?
    ta
    PAP

    • Regina permalink*
      January 8, 2011 1:46 am

      Hello again. As for the Jamaican Black Castor Oil, I wouldn’t say it has to be that particular type, but that has been what works best for me. I think it is just important to make sure you are purchasing the Castor Oil for hair and not the laxative version of Castor Oil. Of course I don’t mind you asking. Yes, I mix ACV with some conditioner (any rinse out conditioner that I am using) and let it sit on my scalp before shampooing. Recently, I used about 2 tablespoons. Hope that helps. :)

Leave a Reply

