Skip to content

My Skin Care Treats for Dry Skin

December 18, 2010

If you have dry skin like I do and you’ve never tried Trader Joe’s A Midsummer Night’s Cream* lotion, you may want to grab a bottle and soon.  My winter skin can be something serious, so I appreciate super thick lotions that keep my skin free of perpetual dryness. I stumbled upon this lotion during a trip to Trader Joe’s and I now love it.  It’s unscented, thick and creamy.  I use it right after a bath or shower and my skin thanks me for it.  A 16oz bottle is $3.49.  Now that’s what I call a deal!

While I’m talking up Trader Joe’s, I’d like to also mention TJ’s fabulous Oatmeal & Honey Soap**.  I’ve been using this soap off and on for the past three years or so.  It’s a pure vegetable soap and it feels so smooth and soft on the skin.  It has a soothing light scent and doesn’t dry out the skin.  A pack of two bars is less than $2. With this soap, you can do no wrong.

This combo has been doing well for me this cold season.  I still have Oyin Handmade’s Whipped Pudding for my dry skin issues, but I haven’t been using it recently since my Trader Joe’s discovery.

 

 *Ingredients: Water, Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Seed Oil, Butylene Glyvol, Petrolatum, Dimethicone, Glycerin, Glyceryl Stearate, PEG-100 Stearate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Panthenol, Polysorbate 60, Sorbitan Stearate, Ceteareth-20, Allantoin, Persea Gratissima (Advocado) Oil, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba)  Oil, Symphytum Officinale Rhizome/Root Extract, Hydroloyzed Soy Protein, Tocopherol, Stearic Acid, TEA-Carbomer, Diazolidinyl Urea, Methylparaben, PropylParaben, Salvia Officinalis (Sage) Oil 

**Ingredientes: Sodium Palmate, Sodium Palm Kernelate, Water, Glycerin, Essence of Oatmeal, Oatmeal Flakes, Honey, Sodium Chloride, Pentasodium Pentetate.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 18, 2010 10:46 am

    thanks for these recommendations. i normally use my homemade whipped shea butter but i might try the soap too!

    • Regina permalink*
      December 18, 2010 10:53 am

      You’re welcome Chinye. They are really good.

  2. December 18, 2010 11:33 am

    I love both of these products. I wish I could get the last bits of lotion out of the bottle, but it’s so thick it won’t come out without a struggle. I guess it’s cheap enough that I should just stop fussing about that last little bit. :)

    • Regina permalink*
      December 19, 2010 1:14 am

      Hi Katie,
      Yes, it is very cheap. Nevertheless, I cut open the bottle with a box cutter and get the last bits out. (Typing that made has suddenly made cutting the bottle seem extreme. But, oh well. Yup, that is what I do.)
      :)

      • December 20, 2010 8:34 pm

        Brilliant! Now I’ve just got to find my box cutter.

      • Regina permalink*
        December 21, 2010 9:00 am

        Be careful. :)

Leave a Reply

