Skip to content

The Puzzling Winter Switch Up

October 12, 2010

Oyin Handmade posted some points on their blog about using their products during the winter season.  Oyin goods usually contain one humectant or another and lots of folks (including myself last winter) shelf products containing vegetable glycerin and other humectants from their routine during cold months to prevent loss of moisture.  The Oyin team says that this scraping of humectants for the winter may not be all that necessary.

Yes, they have products to sell but they make a good point.  Maybe the winter regime doesn’t have to be puzzling at all.  Check it out here.

What’s your winter switch up?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. mangomadness permalink
    October 12, 2010 5:52 pm

    I seal with shealoe and castor oil and wear updos 24/7.

    • Regina permalink*
      October 12, 2010 6:56 pm

      Hi Mangomadness. Updos are my steady “go to” most of the time but especially winter. I haven’t sealed with castor oil in a long time. But I use a shealoe and other butters.

  2. October 12, 2010 7:59 pm

    I too saw that post today by oyin, but I’m frankly not necessarily convinced. i guess it depends on what is more powerful— the pull of the glycerin or the sealer.

    besides, it WOULD be in their best interest as a manufacturer to make glycerin in the winter less “scary” so that their sales will not drop in winter months.

    I guess people should try their methods and see for themselves if glycerin use really does not dry their hair out!

    • Regina permalink*
      October 13, 2010 8:31 am

      Yes Cassadie, they would have a drop in sales because of this. But I think trying out their methods, if anyone still want to use their Oyin products during the winter, would be worth a try. If it doesn’t work, then drop the glycerin and other humectants for the cold season.

  3. October 13, 2010 11:02 am

    The changes I make in winter are:
    1) cover my hair more
    2) wash/condition more (2ce/week instead of 1ce/week)

    As for glycerin, I use it only in warm, humid weather. Works for me, so why rock the boat? ;-)

    • Regina permalink*
      October 13, 2010 11:16 am

      Thanks for sharing. Do whatever works! I’ve never washed & conditioned more in the winter.

  4. purpleafroprincess permalink
    October 13, 2010 3:45 pm

    Hiya
    I haven’t done anything different in the winter. I do an overnight condition instead of a few hours but that’s it. I’m quite interested in this glycerin thing. But honestly i doubt that the little moisture in one’s hair would be ‘reverse osmosis(ed)’ to that extent. Might have a look on Natural Haven for her scientific slant on stuff like this!
    I will however be twisting, updoing and protective styling more now that i have gotten my head round it and am practising a few styles.

    • Regina permalink*
      October 13, 2010 3:52 pm

      Sounds like a plan to me purpleafroprincess. I haven’t tried the overnight conditioning before. I doubt that I will actually. I feel like I get what I need with deep conditioning for 40-60 min or so.

      ps. lol @ ‘reverse osmosis(ed)’

Leave a Reply

