Skip to content

Popular Novel ‘The Help’ to Hit the Silver Screen

October 1, 2010

When you are a commuter, as I am, riding the subway sometimes gives you a hint on what books are currently popular because you will see tons of people with the same book in hand.  Lately,  I’ve seen many people on the subway reading Kathryn Stockett’s novel The Help.  I just learned that a film based on this novel is in the works.

The legendary Cicley Tyson will be acting in the film as well as Viola Davis, who had everyone buzzing with her performance in the 2008 film DoubtThe Help will also star La Chanze, who wowed Broadway with her portrayal of Celie in “The Color Purple”, Bryce Dallas Howard, Aunjanue Ellis, Mike Vogel, Octavia Spencer, Brian Kerwin, Dana Ivey and David Oyelowo.  I’ll be back with the trailer when it’s released.

I haven’t read the novel as yet, but I’ve heard that it’s a very good read.  The Help may be getting penciled in on my reading list very soon.  (I love a good novel and movie comparison.)

Have you read the book?  Interested in the film?

Side note:  I’ve always like the black and white photos I’ve seen over the years of Cicely Tyson wearing cornrows.  I look forward to seeing her in this movie.

 

 

Cicely Tyson rocked her cornrows on-screen and off in the '60's.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

