Skip to content

Rinse in the Sink…or Not?

September 13, 2010

Usually, by the time I’m done deep conditioning I just want to rinse my hair quickly and get on with the rest of my oiling and sealing routine.  One question I used to ask myself was should I rinse in the sink or hop back in the shower?

At first I didn’t really think it would make a difference, but I began to notice more tangling at the base of my twists when I rinsed my hair by leaning forward under the faucet of the bathroom sink after shampooing in the shower with my head held back under the stream.  The tangles weren’t a major catastrophe but  still  I would rather take a step to make sure that I have little to no tangling when  shampooing and conditioning.

Now, I just jump back into the shower for a quick rinse.  I have much less tangles if any at all.  Also, if a twist gets loose, it’s so much easier to do a quick finger detangling and retwist while standing under the water in the shower.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2010 1:11 pm

    It depends, I will rinse in the shower if I did an overnight condish or if its just more convenient but I will only rinse out in the sink if there is a sprayer attachment. Otherwise my hair never feels completely rinsed.

    • Regina permalink*
      September 14, 2010 1:19 pm

      Hi Kemi. The sprayer attachment does help to rinse. I’m not sure that a spray attachment would be the only factor in decreasing tangles though.

  2. September 14, 2010 1:49 pm

    I used the rinse in the sink, but i find that it doesn’t do a thorough job of getting conditioner out. I like rinsing in the shower so that the full force gets conditioner of my scalp, and hair.

    When rinsing in the sink I don’t really get tangles because I wash and condition in twists.

    • Regina permalink*
      September 14, 2010 1:59 pm

      Thanks for sharing Chinye. I wash and condition in twists as well. I was getting some tangles at the base of the twist.

  3. ayomidejpw permalink
    September 20, 2010 9:23 pm

    I have to wash my hair in the sink now because I moved into an apartment w/ a hot water tank that can’t handle me washing my hair in the shower plus I was wasting water. With that said I haven’t had any problem washing/rinsing in the sink. I keep my hair parted and wash and rinse each section until I don’t see any suds or feel anything in my hair. How well you rinse also depends on how well you can get your head under the faucet, lol that makes a big difference! I use my fingers to work the shampoo/conditioner off my scalp while being under the water and then squeeze my hair continually while the water rinses through until the water is clear.

    • Regina permalink*
      September 20, 2010 9:41 pm

      “How well you rinse also depends on how well you can get your head under the faucet” I agree. I think that was my biggest problem with this. If I had one of those spray attachments, it might have made a world of difference. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

