Skip to content

Karen’s Body Beautiful: Luscious Locks Moisturizing Hair Mask

September 9, 2010

Karen’s Body Beautiful’s Luscious Locks Moisturizing Hair Mask is a deep conditioning treatment meant to condition and strengthen the hair.  According to the website, this hair mask contains “rich blend of herbs like shikakai and rosemary which are known to promote hair growth, arnica and nettle to strengthen your hair follicles and aloe for much needed moisture”.  Unlike KBB’s other products Luscious Locks is only available unscented.

My first thought when I opened this product and scooped some out was that is very thin.  (I love super thick conditioners for deep treatments.)  I applied it from root to tip concentrating on the ends of my hair that are always thirsty for moisture.  I conditioned under a plastic cap and towel for about 40 minutes.  I rinsed it out thoroughly and noticed that my hair didn’t feel as soft as it normally does after a deep treatment.  I followed the rest of my shampoo routine and let my hair air-dry overnight.

The next day, my hair didn’t feel dry or brittle but it didn’t feel particularly manageable either.  Luscious Locks Moisturizing Hair Mask has some good ingredients but it was not overall what I need and want in a deep conditioner.  Also, the price of this product is steep: $25 for a 200ml jar.  Granted, I didn’t add my beloved olive oil to the hair mask which always adds a nice soft touch.  But, at $25 a pop, I didn’t feel like I should have to add anything.  I’ve been using the remaining product to detangle my hair before shampooing.

Ingredients: Purified Water, Aloe Butter, Jojoba Oil, Agave, Vegetable Wax, Vegetable Glycerin, Aloe Vera Juice, Panthenol, Arnica, Calendula, Echinacea, Nettle & Horsetail Extracts, Carrot Seed Oil, Rosemary Essential Oil, Arnica, Shikakai & Amla Extracts, Vitamin E & Natural Enzymes

2 Comments leave one →
  1. purpleafroprincess permalink
    September 9, 2010 5:42 pm

    Hi
    Pity- i hate when a pricey product that looks good in every way disappoints.
    I’m currently trying some stuff from anita grant and i’m not seeing much improvement despite the fantastic ingredients and smell ;-(. Looks like my no-name coconut condish is the way forward. it really is a case of suck it and see with these things. i’m not soo stressed since i read on Natural haven not to fear ‘normal’ products in the shops. You never know ;-)
    By the way- what is your fave deep condish? i just add oil to my usual conditioner.
    xx

    • Regina permalink*
      September 10, 2010 9:29 am

      Yes, Purpleafroprinces. Isn’t it? I found that the simpler things have worked very well for me. (Simple castor oil, olive oil and condish). My favorite deep conditioner is Aubrey Organics Honeysuckle Rose conditioner mixed with olive oil. I did a post on it a while back. Check for it under the products category.

      I’ve never tried Anita Grant, but I have heard about her. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

