Skip to content

Karen’s Body Beautiful: Sweet Ambrosia

August 27, 2010

Karen’s body beautiful’s Sweet Ambrosia (formerly known as Hair Milk) is a light leave-in for the hair’s essential moisture.  The cream-colored moisturizer rubs into the hair easily and has the consistency of a thin lotion.  As most KBB products, it’s available in  scents to suit any taste.  (All my current KBB products are Egyptian Musk scented.)

I’ve been smoothing  it on my hair after shampooing and then applying  KBB’s Butter Love from root to tip.  If I am wearing my hair loose, I’ll use Sweet Ambrosia as a daily styling aid.  For daily use, I’ll  rub it on my hair before twisting my tresses at night or I’ll apply Sweet Ambrosia while fluffling my hair in the morning after having removed the twists .

Although I like to add leave-in conditioners to my homemade spritz, I don’t think Sweet Ambrosia is cooperating with that function.  After a day or two in my spritz bottle, this leave-in  collects on the top of the water and after a bit of shaking resembles floating stringy clouds.

Spritz aside, I do like it when it is applied directly to the hair.  It is protein free and my hair is getting the moisture it needs right now without any protein buildup (which is the very reason why I bought this leave-in conditioner in the first place).

Protein free and oh so sweet.  I rule Sweet Ambrosia a keeper .

Ingredients: Purified Water, Jojoba and Avocado Oils, Vegetable Wax, Panthenol, Arnica, Calendula, Echinacea, Nettle & Horsetail Extracts, Vegetable Glycerin, Wheat Germ Oil, Essential and/or Fragrance Oil, Natural Enzymes & Vitamin E

Side note: When I originally posted about switching up conditioners I was leaning more towards Karen’s Body Beautiful’s Hair Nectar.  However, after visiting the KKB shop it was recommended that Sweet Ambrosia would be better for my hair type.  I tested both on a section of my hair and decided to go with the Sweet Ambrosia.


2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kweli permalink
    September 16, 2010 9:32 am

    Are you still loving the sweet ambrosia?

    • Regina permalink*
      September 16, 2010 9:34 am

      Yes, Kweli. It is still working for me. :)

Leave a Reply

