Skip to content

Final Thoughts on Coconut Oil

August 14, 2010

So after many trials using coconut oil, I’ve drawn some final conclusions:

  • Coconut oil only cooperates with my hair when it is dry.  No sealing damp hair with said oil or crunch will follow.
  • Coconut oil makes my hair feel a little softer to the touch mainly when styling recently washed hair.   My guess is this is because of less buildup.
  • My dry scalp is soothed and cooled with coconut oil during scalp massages before shampooing.
  • Pre-shampoo treatments with coconut oil are regimen worthy. 
  • How can I not love the scent?

Yes coconut, I’m rockin’ with you.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jan permalink
    August 15, 2010 4:01 pm

    I have a love/hate relationship with coconut oil. It works great as a prepoo, anything else spells disaster.

    • Regina permalink*
      August 15, 2010 6:23 pm

      Totally understand Jan. :)

  2. August 18, 2010 7:25 pm

    I totally agree with you sis!

    I love the scent of coconut oil and cook with it and like how it softens my skin BUT…Every time I try to seal wet hair w/ coconut oil, my hair ends up CRUNCHY and weird – the last thing I need w/ naturally dry 4B hair! So I too like to use it as a pre-poo and I’ve noticed that it tends to soften my hair a bit if I apply it to dry hair. It’s funny how some things work perfectly fine for others but is a big no-no for some.

    • Regina permalink*
      August 19, 2010 8:37 am

      I agree. It is interesting to see what works on some and doesn’t on others. I do like a little coconut oil on my skin too! :)

Leave a Reply

