Skip to content

Words on the Karen’s Body Beautiful Event

July 28, 2010

I attended the Karen’s Body Beautiful get-together and it was packed.  Stylist Felicia Leatherwood doled out some tips and talked about some of her fav products. I felt that a lot of her suggestions were good for newbies but if you’ve been reading hair blogs or forums, then much of  that info would be tips that you’ve read or tried before.   Karen took the floor to give us the low down on her products (which have a new sleek black look).  Karen also answered some questions folks had about their hair issues and concerns.

I enjoyed the event for the simple fact that there was a lot of love in the room.  Karen even mentioned how when a natural lady sees another natural lady they might smile at each other or offer up a compliment that didn’t necessarily occur before stepping over into the natural world.  Naturals all to some extent share a lot of the same story so there is a connection between us all.  Everyone was so open and friendly smiles were everywhere.

I also got my hands on a goody bag filled with a discount card for KBB’s new spa, a fizzy bath ball and a bottle of Maximum Moisture Body Lotion in pomegranate guava (smells like tropical punch Now and Laters if you ask me–and I like it).  I ended up purchasing a few products: Sweet Ambrosia (formerly known as Hair Milk), Butter Love (formerly known as Hair Butter) and Luscious Locks Moisturizing Hair Mask.  Now, I have  the protein free conditioner that I’ve needed.  I still have some homemade shealoe but I wanted to try the hair butter since it was packed with a few more butters that were on my list of things to try.  So far, I’m really diggin’ these products (more on them later).  I have yet to deep condition with the Hair Mask but I will let you know how it goes.

Hair stylist Felicia Leatherwood demonstrates a flat twist with Afro puff hairpiece.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2010 2:02 pm

    oh gosh—- youve reawoken the PJ in side of me with pictures of those slick new black bottles!!! I’m all about her stuff…good thing this store is on the other side of the country from me cause I could be in trou-BLE!

    looks like it was a stellar time!!!

    • Regina permalink*
      July 29, 2010 2:30 pm

      HAHA. That’s all it takes Cassadie–new black bottles? :) Well what’s inside the bottle is great so, win win. I’m glad distance is keeping your inner PJ in check.

      PS: I know that you suggested the Hair Nectar but Karen recommended the Hair Milk for my hair texture and I did a little test of each on a small patch of hair and I decided to go with the milk. So far so good.

Leave a Reply

