Skip to content

Gone Fishin’

July 12, 2010

Hello my dear coilies.  Sorry for not giving you an earlier heads up, but I am off to Puerto Rico (yayy!).  I’ll be updating this weekend with my vacation hairstyle and routine.  Enjoy your week! (I will.)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Moni permalink
    July 12, 2010 6:45 pm

    Have fun! I’m heading to PR in a few weeks, so hopefully, you’ll return with some advice on things to do in Puerto Rico! :)

    • Regina permalink*
      July 16, 2010 10:17 am

      Thanks Moni. It’s lovely in PR. In which part are you going to stay?

      • Moni permalink
        July 19, 2010 12:45 am

        I’m going to San Juan and Vieques. I’m hoping to see a little of the countryside too, especially El Yunque.

      • Regina permalink*
        July 19, 2010 9:02 am

        I went to San Juan for two short trips. Definitely see El Morro fortress. It was lovely. I arrived too late to get inside though. But it was still nice just walking around it. There was a nice little restaurant not far from it called El Jibarito Restaurant on Calle del Sol. I enjoyed my food and the price was reasonable. I was actually staying near El Yunque. It’s worth a trip to see the rainforest. I don’t know if your taking tours or renting a car but there are a couple of restaurants near El Yunque also:
        1)Antojitos Puertorriquenos (Carretera 968 #160, Rio Grande, PR 00745, (787) 888-7378). Authentic and delicious but expect to wait a little bit for your food.
        2) La Parilla (Kiosk #2 Luquillo Beach, (787) 889-0590). Good stuff!

        I never made it to Vieques. I actually didn’t have plans to go. I wanted to see Culebra. I heard the beach there is amazing. The ferry to Culebra is at the same place as the ferry to Vieques, if I am not mistaken. Head out early. I did, however, go to Fajardo and kayak to the Bioluminescent Lagoon. Pretty cool! I went with Pure Adventure (Facebook fan page: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Fajardo/Pure-Adventure-Corp/89210534811). The tour guides were knowledgeable and downright fun. It was $45 ($40 if you payed cash–much less than some of the other companies). There even had some snacks and water waiting for us when we got back to land. And if kayaking isn’t your thing there are some motorized boat tours out there but I don’t know any of there prices.

        Club Brava at the Hotel San Juan was good for a night out. (don’t know how much the cover is. got a hookup from someone at my hotel–lesson: talk to the concierge, bell hops housekeeping etc. people were looking out)

        I think you’ll have a good time in PR. Let me know how it was when you get back.
        :)

Leave a Reply

