Skip to content

Dandruff, Oh My!–Part 1

June 10, 2010

Last Year, I came down with the worst case of dandruff that I’ve ever had.  My scalp was red and burning and flakes  were everywhere. Dandruff is not a problem that I face often and the few times that I have,  it was never this bad.  I needed something to soothe my scalp quickly.

I rushed to the beauty supply store for some dandruff shampoo.   I ended up buying Dr. Miracle’s 2 in 1 Tingling Dandruff Shampoo.  Also, while I had banned hair grease from touching my hair or scalp, I was so freaked out by the dandruff that I bought something I had used in the past during my relaxed days, Sulfur8 Hair and Scalp Conditioner (Yikes).  Well, the shampoo did ease my irritated scalp and clear away the flakes, but by the next day, the scalp conditioner had my dandruff situation completely worse.  My scalp looked terrible and the flakes were incredulous.  I washed my hair again that day and used Oyin Handmade’s Burnt Sugar Hair Pomade on my scalp.  The flakes subsided but my scalp, still irritated, needed more work. After two more washes with the Dr. Miracle’s, I felt comfortable enough to stop using it.

Post dandruff, I felt like my scalp still didn’t feel like its normal self.  A constant burning and itchiness remained.  I felt very uncomfortable and decided that it was time to see a dermatologist so I booked an appointment.

At the doctor’s, I explained the dandruff episode and the irritated scalp.   (My scalp was feeling less inflamed by the time of my appointment but still irritated.)   I asked the dermotologist, “Could a high tension style flare up irritation?” (I had been wearing my high puff consistently for quite some time.)  She said, “Usually, no.”  I wondered if it was possible that my dandruff left me with a sensitive scalp.  I never characterized my scalp as such before but that scenario, according to the dermatologist, was unlikely.

She scraped at my scalp at bit with a small wooden stick, said that my scalp looked fine and suggested that I use Pantene Pro-V Relaxed and Natural Anti-Dandruff Shampoo.   I asked if something natural like vinegar would help stave off dandruff.  She replied, “vinegar will kill fungal elements.” (One cause of dandruff is the fungus Malassezia furfur.)  The dermatologist suggested that if I wanted to use apple cider vinegar, I should mix 1 tablespoon with some conditioner, apply it to my scalp, let the mixture sit for a while then wash and condition as usual.

I was also given a perscription for a medicated scalp oil called DermaSmooth to sooth my scalp.  She informed me that DermaSmooth was peanut oil containing an anti inflammatory medication (It contains Fluocinolone, “a topical steroid” that “reduces the actions of chemicals in the body that cause inflammation, redness, and swelling,” according to drugs.com.) which prompted me to ask if I could use peanut oil mixed with a natural anti-inflammatory oil like aloe vera.  She told me that doing so would probably be fine.

I left the dermatologist glad that I had went but not quite sure what my next step was going to be.  I went home and researched DermaSmooth and it seemed too strong for my symptoms.  As for the shampoo the doctor recommended, I wasn’t too keen on using anymore sulfates on a regular basis (I only used the Dr. Miracles out of desperation.)  so….

Stay tuned for the conclusion in the next post “Attacking My Problem Scalp” (Dandruff, Oh My!–Part 2).

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Merc permalink
    June 12, 2010 10:17 am

    Must be the heat?! I have the same itchy issue this week! Even after shampooing! Oh my wee head needs a break…

Leave a Reply

