Skip to content

If It Ain’t One Thing…

June 5, 2010

I’ve talked about my trials as a new natural before.  In the beginning, there were always unwarranted suggestions being thrown my way. Some people thought I should perm again since I would be graduating from college soon and  looking for a career or simply because my hair wasn’t “soft”.  (Read “soft” as the played-out concept of  “good” hair.)

Now as a natural woman who loves her hair and now knows how to care for and style her mane, the suggestions of a good slathering of chemicals have ceased.  But, I seem to face a different situation:  people who keep suggesting that I start locs.

I love locs.  They are very beautiful and versatile, but they’re not what I want right now.  I love finding new styles for my loose natural, I love my dear puff and I love the overall showing and proving that natural hair is fly (for the non-believers still left).

On the train the other day, a random woman with lovely dreadlocks complimented my hair and  asked me how long I had been natural.  I replied,  “since 2001”.  She looked surprised and then said, “Oh!  If you had locs your hair would’ve been so long by now”. Is it a length issue?  Why have a natural when you can have cascading locs?  Even some of my lovely loced friends have been known to say “just loc it already”.  Or some will say since you already have a good amount of hair, you wouldn’t have to go through the short locs stage (slanderously called the “ugly phase” by some).  I let all of these folks know that locing is definitely not what I’m doing right now.  I’m loving my loose natural.

Honestly, I can see myself with locs in the future.  One day, I just may have an exquisite head full of  locs.  But, for right now let my puff rock in peace.

:)

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2010 6:50 am

    I am so with you on that. I get a lot of the same comments and hate it. This is one of the reasons I am glad I get to do my own hair at home, I don’t want a stylist constantly nagging me about the glory of locs. What do I need a sign on my forehead or what? You go right ahead and rock those coils, don’t worry I’m right behind you.

    • Regina permalink*
      June 7, 2010 8:15 am

      Thanks. Nice to know that someone understands.

  2. kadiane*francophone permalink
    June 8, 2010 4:48 pm

    I guest it is their way of saying they don’t like your hair. Those who feel like commenting on my hair without saying anything positive usually just don’t like it nor do they like their own hair texture. I become like a mirror for them so they have to do everything to remove that image of themselves that I represent.

    • Regina permalink*
      June 9, 2010 8:35 am

      Hi Kadiane. I felt a lot of it to be an obsession with length more than texture. Who knows for sure? And at this point, I don’t worry myself with what others feel about my hair.

  3. June 9, 2010 7:21 pm

    rock your puff in peace??? I think you should rock it loudly and proudly for the world to know and enjoy!!!

    then again, you do. keep doing your thang, girl. :)

    • Regina permalink*
      June 10, 2010 8:15 am

      HA. Good one Cassadie! Thanks.

  4. June 14, 2010 12:33 pm

    my brother and his friends are ALWAYS asking me if I’m going to start loc’ing and it’s getting annoying. They just think that for me to not perm my hair means that I must want to start locs, anything but a regular afro means I’m starting locs. I’ll have little two strand twists and here they come, asking am I starting to loc. Do a twist out and they ask if it’s locs. I don’t get it! Lol, crazy boys, I tell ya. \

    I could never do locs, although I think that they are pretty. But to me it’d be like having permanent microbraids and I can’t even keep THOSE for more than 2 months or so without wanting to play in my hair.

    http://socialitedreams.wordpress.com

    • Regina permalink*
      June 15, 2010 8:15 am

      Lol. Thanks for sharing Socialite.

Leave a Reply

