Skip to content

Does My Hair Need Sunscreen?

April 2, 2010

Last year, just before summer, I asked myself: does my hair need sunscreen?  I went to Sephora and checked out Phytoplage L’Originale Protective Beach Spray.  Online, Sephora describes it as a “powerful spray-shield that guards hair against the adverse effects of sun, salt, and chlorine.”  In the end, I simply decided not to buy it.  I wasn’t convinced that my hair needed a sunscreen spray and I didn’t feel like parting with more of my hard earned cash than necessary.

Being that I didn’t go to the beach last year (boo!) or any pools, I just continued to use Oyin’s Whipped Pudding, a shea based cream, and kept it moving.  Shea is great for moisture and sealing purposes with an added bonus:  natural sunscreen.  Now, I make shealoe which will serve the same purposes.

I wouldn’t mind experimenting with a sunscreen like Phytoplage L’Originale or Ouidad’s  Sun Shield Sun and Sport Leave-In Spray.  I could see myself trying one of these sprays during  an outdoor excursion or day at the beach, but not for everyday use throughout the summer.  If you do try any sunscreen products on your hair, my suggestion is test a small part of your hair first.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Merc permalink
    April 5, 2010 12:15 pm

    I doubt it. Unless of course you live in a hot tropic zone and have bleached your mane. I had dyed my hair red and it got more and more red in the tropical sunshine when not protected. Not an issue now – here in Scotland. The chlorine protection may also apply if you are swimming daily without cover.

    What do you recommend for a dry and flaky scalp?

    • Regina permalink*
      April 5, 2010 12:45 pm

      Thanks Merc. I would say that the cause of the dry and flaky scalp would determine how you handle treating it. I had a serious case of dandruff last year. My scalp was extremely dry, flaky and irritated. A mix of apple cider vinegar and conditioner applied directly to my scalp prior to washing did the trick. I left it on for about 15-20 minutes.

  2. kadiane*francophone permalink
    April 5, 2010 5:57 pm

    Here is your answer. You can trust that woman. Her other name is ”the cosmetic cop” :

    http://www.cosmeticscop.com/hair-care-products-sunscreen.aspx

    • Regina permalink*
      April 6, 2010 8:32 am

      Thanks Kadiane. That was a good read. I guess I’ll get a hat ready if I plan on being in the sun for a long time.

Leave a Reply

