Skip to content

What’s in Your Spray Bottle?

March 30, 2010

Like most coilies out there, I always have a spray bottle on deck.  What I put inside of it depends on the season.

Cold Months — Water, coconut oil and jojoba oil.

My hair is usually up in a rolled styled for the winter so this mixture serves it’s purpose of moisture and light sheen.

Warm Months –Water and Oyin Handmade’s Honey Hemp Hair Conditioner.

The Honey Hemp Hair Conditioner contains  humectants which I read can work against your hair’s moisture when it’s cold out.  For that reason, I temporarily phased it out this past winter.  Oyin’s conditioner also has protein (hydrolyzed silk).  My hair loves this stuff but I am wondering if I should alternate leave-in conditioners that I add to my spray to avoid protein overload.  I’ll be experimenting with this when I switch to my warm weather spray formula.  Karen’s Body Beautiful stroked my interest lately.  I still haven’t decided on trying the Hair Milk or Hair Nectar.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2010 7:11 am

    Winter – Water, evoo, and essential oil mostly for fragrance.
    Summer – Water, suave tropical coconut condtioner.

    • Regina permalink*
      March 31, 2010 8:39 am

      Hi bejai. I wanted to try the suave coconut a while back (co washes, deep conditioner). Loads of people mention it.

  2. March 31, 2010 7:55 am

    Thanks for this post. This goes along with the topic I posted on my blog yesterday. If you’re interested you can check it out (http://breakinknewground.blogspot.com/2010/03/does-season-change-hair-change.html). I’d love for you to leave your input in the comments section. Thanks again.

    • Regina permalink*
      March 31, 2010 8:40 am

      You’re welcome and thank you for reading.

  3. March 31, 2010 10:28 am

    Dear Sister Regina of Coily Crowns: I have been growing my natural hair for about 20 months or so. It’s grown quite a bit but I hadn’t been styling it the way I should. I hadn’t even been doing much on my own hair blog. I had gotten quite fed up and was just about ready to cut my 8 inches of hair right off. Then something told me to go on my own blog and look at my sidebar. Then I saw you and your beautiful hair and right then and there I decided to keep my hair! I remembered that I wanted to start copying your hair styles! Thanks sister, for saving my hair! I’m now reenergized about my hair! One never knows who she’s inspiring!! Thanks again.
    nnhbb.blogspot.com A black woman’s beauty

    • Regina permalink*
      March 31, 2010 10:43 am

      Thank you so much for sharing Anna Renee. I never know exactly who is reading or getting inspired but I am always happy to find out. If I can help anyone realize the beauty of their natural, then I feel like this blog is doing something. Have a great time styling. Practice. I’ve been through a few doosies in the styling department before I started this blog (and might have a few more). So never give up. Thanks for your kind words. Email me with any styling questions etc… as you wish. :)

  4. gaby permalink
    April 2, 2010 11:01 am

    i dont know what ill use for summer just went natural in sept ’09 but i mix water, whatever conditioner im using at the moment, and carols daughter oils for smell

    • Regina permalink*
      April 2, 2010 11:05 am

      Thanks for sharing gaby. Do you use any conditioner regardless of it being a leave-in or not? Just curious.

      • gaby permalink
        April 2, 2010 11:12 am

        i use regular old conditioner like a quarter size amount in the water…right now im using pantene relaxed and naturals because i shop at costco and still have conditioner from my perm days. my real conditioner (like to cowash and after a real wash) i use garnier and a mix i made of coconut oil, olive oil & rosemary…and i deep condition with ojon hair mask

      • Regina permalink*
        April 2, 2010 11:35 am

        Thanks. Your Garnier mix sounds good. :) I only use leave-in conditioners for my sprays though. I looked at the Ojon hair mask before. I hear it is good (and expensive).

      • gaby permalink
        April 2, 2010 12:19 pm

        ojon is very expensive…but secret sephoria gives ample free samples ahahaha so try it a couple times to make sure that you want to buy and they have it on qvc sometimes for a discount

      • Regina permalink*
        April 2, 2010 12:22 pm

        Ha. Yes, I love samples! QVC? Who knew? :) Thanks for the tips gaby.

  5. September 12, 2010 9:56 pm

    I use a mix of water, aloe vera gel and a squirt of honey all year round.

    • Regina permalink*
      September 12, 2010 10:38 pm

      Hmm sounds like a good mix.

Leave a Reply

