Skip to content

Flying While Wearing an Updo

February 26, 2010

Last year, headed on a trip to the Southeast, I set off the metal detectors at the airport.  The culprit wasn’t my belt or change in my pocket, so the airport security officer used the hand-held metal detector to find out exactly where the problem was coming from.  The wand was passed over my head and went haywire.  The culprit: my hairpins.

pre-frisked minirolls

Made to step aside and wait for a female security officer, I dreaded the pat down soon to come.  I was patted and my minirolls were pressed.  Hated it.  The whole thing was embarrassing. I didn’t know why the pat down was necessary since the problem was already determined to be coming from my hair. Why didn’t this ordeal start and stop with pressing the minirolls?   That alone was still an invasion of personal space but the opportunistic pat down was worse.  I suppose all security measures must be taken.

I didn’t feel like I was being profiled, but I did feel violated.  Is it wrong to take the extra measure?  Since I wasn’t up to anything suspicious, I was annoyed, but when I hear of a foiled illegal plot, I’m relieved.  So I sucked it up for security.  (Not that I had any other sensible choice.)

The Northeastern snowstorm that started yesterday forced a change on my flight plans for today.  I have a rescheduled flight for tomorrow, cinna-buns and a lot less hairpins.  Let’s try this again.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. kadiane*francophone permalink
    March 1, 2010 8:32 am

    Lolll ! Thanks for the warning

  2. March 1, 2010 9:24 am

    i love your buns sooooo much! I want to try that style, i think my hair has to be much longer and not really sure how to anyway, lol. May have to admire from afar, but it’s gorgeous :D

    http://socialitedreams.wordpress.com

    • Regina permalink*
      March 3, 2010 10:52 pm

      Thanks. From what I see, I think you shouldn’t worry too much about the length. You should try the buns. Maybe they will be smaller but I think you can try it out. Practice is always good. Sorry for not having some step by step pics up yet. I do my best to explain the way I style. Thanks for reading.

  3. March 9, 2010 3:36 pm

    lol! Sorry for laughing at you but the same happened to me. However she didn’t pass the wand over my head and was just puzzled because nothing else buzzed.

    • Regina permalink*
      March 9, 2010 3:40 pm

      No worries JC. You almost have to laugh. Glad to hear I wasn’t the only one.

  4. March 10, 2010 11:52 pm

    I actually got a pat down at LGA last week too, on my way to New Orleans. AND I was wearing leggings, a tank top, and a wrap sweater, and they made me take off my wrap sweater (which was really, really thin). I thought that was totally unnecessary — and really embarrassing, as well.

    • Regina permalink*
      March 10, 2010 11:55 pm

      That sounds really odd. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

