Skip to content

On a Rollercoaster with Coconut Oil

January 31, 2010

Coconut oil and I have had a love/hate relationship for a few months now.  It went a little something like this:

First Encounter— I was unimpressed.  Hard crunchy hair was not what I expected after using the oil to seal my damp hair. However, I decided to give it a second chance.

Second Encounter—  I had the same dismal results even though I used it as a pre-shampoo treatment instead of a sealant.  But, in retrospect, I realized that I didn’t do a deep treatment after the pre-poo and wash.  I only used leave-in conditioner.  So… maybe that was me not you coconut oil.  “Maybe a third chance was necessary,” I thought.  Plus, I still had practically a whole jar of oil left.

Making it Official — I felt another shot at the pre-poo was in order.   I spread coconut oil all over my hair before washing.  After washing and deep conditioning, I really liked the way my hair felt.  It worked!  Finally, a successful attempt at incorporating coconut oil in my routine.   And it was here to stay!

Not to be excluded from the multipurpose arena, I recently discovered that a little coconut oil is good during styling.  I added a bit to my fingertips and ran them through the section of hair that I was styling.  My hair felt softer and more pliable.

With that said, coconut oil, I’ll say this: I like you.  In fact, I like you like you.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2010 12:15 pm

    I <3 coconut oil…it smells so good to me, like macaroons….That and olive oil have been good friends to my hair

    http://socialitedreams.wordpress.com/

  2. February 4, 2010 3:15 pm

    lol, funny post. I like it too for pre-washing and a little goes a long way after.

    • Regina permalink*
      February 4, 2010 3:46 pm

      ;) I had to learn that “a little goes a long way” the hard way.

  3. Jessica permalink
    February 8, 2010 12:17 pm

    readers & Regina :)

    Coconut oil vs EVOO–which do you think is better?

    Can I buy it at any grocery store or would I have to go to a specialty shop?

    and what exactly is “pliable” in regards to our hair??

    THANKS!!!

    • Regina permalink*
      February 8, 2010 12:31 pm

      Hello Jessica. I like both oils for different uses so I can’t tell which is better. They are both good. For me, olive oil has been the best oil for deep conditioning treatments. Coconut oil is good for pre-shampoo treatments. When I style, I sometimes add a little coconut oil to my dry hair and it seems to soften a bit and move and tuck easier which is what I was calling pliable. If I could only have one oil for some strange reason, I would make sure that I had olive oil.

      Extra Virgin Olive Oil can be bought at the supermarket.

  4. Andrea permalink
    July 1, 2010 11:02 pm

    I love coconut oil. I use it as a pre-poo DC and a sealant. It makes my hair luxuriously soft and shiny and easily to detangle and deal with. Its by far my fav oil!!

    • Regina permalink*
      July 2, 2010 8:16 am

      I’ve never tried using it with a DC. Olive oil is by far my fav for DCing. Thanks for sharing Andrea

Leave a Reply

