Skip to content

My Staples–Part Deux

January 12, 2010

Here’s part two as promised:

Conditioners & Styling Aids:
Shea butter–I use this in the winter more than in warmer months to keep my hair moisturized.  I whip it with aloe vera gel to make shealoe which I use more than pure shea butter.

Oyin Handmade Honey Hemp Hair Conditioner–I love this citrusy scented hair conditioner.  I use it in my water spritz and as a leave in conditioner after washing.  It’s light and effective but not heavy enough for me during the winter months.

Oyin Handmade Shine and Define Styling Serum–This is a nice light styling cream.  It’s really thin, but you don’t need much to get the job done.  (Use too much and your hair may end up with flaky residue.)  I smooth my edges and nape down with this serum when styling my puffs and rolls.

Oyin Handmade Juices and Berries Nourishing Herbal Leave-In— I spritz my hair with this every few days or so.  Sometimes, I add a bit of castor oil to the liquid in a separate bottle.  At times,  get a little carried away with Juice and Berries because of its grape candy scent.  It’s so pleasant to the nose but more importantly it is pleasant to my hair.  With this leave-in spritz, my hair gets just the quick refreshment it needs.

Vo5 conditioners— These are a must for frequent co-washes and detangling.  These conditioners are super-duper cheap.  (Never more than a buck.)  When it comes to Vo5 conditioners, there are many to choose from.  Just about any one will do, but my favorite line is the Tea Therapy line, more specifically, Blackberry Sage; I love the scent.

Aurbrey Organics  Honey Suckle Rose–It’s super thick, super moisturizing and all natural.  Need I say more?  This conditioner is official!  I added some olive oil to the mix and this dynamic duo has my hair in love.

The Styling Tools:
Boar bristle brush–Nothing smooths my nape and edges better.  This is always close by when I’m styling.

Bobby pins and Hair pins–Could I do all my rolls and minirolls without these?  Nope.  I need them.  I love them.  I use them often.

Seamless combs–I use a large wide tooth seamless comb for detangling.  Seams cause nasty snags so I went with these.

Knee highs–When styling, knee highs come in handy to tie my hair back without snagging my strands.

Well, that’s everything.  If anything changes, I’ll let you all know.

:)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. nikkele permalink
    June 9, 2010 9:46 am

    I’m with you on the Aubrey’s Organics. I use the White Camellia and I love it!

    • Regina permalink*
      June 9, 2010 2:52 pm

      I’ve heard good things about that one also. I’m stuck on Honeysuckle though. :)

  2. September 12, 2010 9:07 pm

    What kind of bobby pins do you use? I use bobby pins a lot but I notice that the black coating is coming off some of them. Does this happen to your bobby pins?

    • Regina permalink*
      September 12, 2010 10:32 pm

      Hi Efe. Yes, sometimes the black coating comes off of my bobby pins. I usually buy a large supply so I just toss the ones that have lost most of the coating. I don’t have any specific name brand of pins that I use I just make sure that the ones that I buy are ball tipped so that they do not scratch my scalp.

Leave a Reply

