Skip to content

My Staples

January 10, 2010

Recently, I’ve been asked quite a few times what my  staple products are.  I mention products that I use here and there in different post, but I guess it helps to have them all together.  Here are my staples:

The Oils:
Coconut oil-
-This comes in handy for pre-shampoo treatments.  Recently, I’ve smoothed a bit through my hair during a styling session and it felt (dare I say) a little softer.

Olive oil–I add olive oil to conditioners for moisturizing deep treatments.  It leaves my hair wondrously pleasant to the touch.

Castor oilMy scalp loves it and regularly gets  oiled with it.  I typically use Jamaican Black Castor Oil.

Jojoba–I add this to homemade concoctions (shampoos, scalp oils).  I rub a small amount over my hair for shine from time to time.

Pomades:
Oyin Handmade Burnt Sugar Hair Pomade–
I apply this to my scalp when I want a little more than an oil.  It smells deliciously sweet and crème brûléeish.

Praises Kuumba Hair and Scalp Conditioner–I apply this to my scalp as well.  But, one of my favorite uses for this pomade is sealing my hair with it from root to tip after washing and conditioning.  It is light and my hair soaks it up.  Kuumba Hair and Scalp Conditioner is one of the best pomades in my opinion.  It is available in unscented and scented (they have many scents to choose from);  my fav scents at the moment are Coco-Mango and Coconut.

Cleansers:
Castille Soap–
I dilute this with water, add a couple of oils and honey and shampoo is born.  Castille soap is so very affordable and biodegradable.  (Being environmentally friendly is oh so sexy!)

Stay tuned for part two, conditioners and styling aids!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. ~Back to Curly~ permalink
    January 10, 2010 1:09 pm

    the Kuumba Scalp conditioner sounds nice…bookmarking it for the future;-)

    • Regina permalink*
      January 10, 2010 4:29 pm

      Glad that you’re interested Curly. It hasn’t let me down yet.

  2. January 10, 2010 10:29 pm

    A friend just mentioned that she tried EVOO before washing her hair as a detangler. Do you know/think there’s a difference between using extra virgin vs. reg olive oil?

    • Regina permalink*
      January 10, 2010 10:40 pm

      Extra Virgin Olive Oil is the result of the first pressing. EVOO is the purest grade. I would tend to lean towards products that are unrefined and/or virgin (olive oil, coconut oil). I’m not going to say that using regular oils would be bad but the purer the better for me.

  3. January 11, 2010 8:55 pm

    I use Jamaican Castor oil also, and olive oil & Jojoba

    • Regina permalink*
      January 11, 2010 11:21 pm

      I simply love olive oil!

Leave a Reply

