Skip to content

Style Longevity

January 2, 2010

As you may know, I love trying new styles on my hair.  In my styling posts, I usually include how long I wore the style.

In a previous post, I stated that I wore the featured style for “about 5 days”.  A Coily Crowns reader commented that she would like to see what the style looked like on the 5th day.  I figured that it’s only fair to show some styles after they’ve been worn in a bit.

I credit the longevity of my styles to:

  • Making sure I sleep with a satin scarf or bonnet,
  • Spritzing my hair with water (or water-conditioner solution) after a few days and
  • Putting a holding product like Oyin Handmade’s Shine and Define Styling Serum on my dampened edges before tying my hair up with a satin scarf overnight.

I’d like to note that nothing keeps it completely fresh.  A little fuzziness or flatness may sneak in, but a tad bit of either doesn’t always ruin the style in my opinion.

Here’s a gallery of styles:

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2010 11:35 pm

    those are some cute styles! I wish that I knew how to make more styles :( One day I’ll get there! hehe

    http://socialitedreams.wordpress.com

    • Regina permalink*
      January 4, 2010 9:13 am

      Thanks. Keep practicing. :)

  2. January 5, 2010 9:42 am

    I am loving your hairstyles!

    • Regina permalink*
      January 5, 2010 8:30 pm

      Thank you so very much.

  3. Efuru permalink
    January 6, 2010 12:33 pm

    Wow, they still look great! Do you have any more pictures (of the style in the second row), taken from the back?

    • Regina permalink*
      January 6, 2010 12:53 pm

      Thank you Efuru. The two styles shown in the second row can be found in the hairstyling posts called “My Roll” and “Motorcitymoxie’s Cinna-buns” respectively.

  4. Efe permalink
    October 31, 2010 11:18 am

    I tried the style in the third picture and I love it!

    • Regina permalink*
      November 1, 2010 8:10 am

      Glad you do Efe. Thanks for reading the blog.

Leave a Reply

