Skip to content

Protein Treatments-Part 3

December 24, 2009

It was my third protein treatment and I was all set to try an egg and honey recipe that I had found online.  Instead, I decided to stick to the old adage “if it ain’t broke don’t fix it”.  So, I went back to my original conditioner and egg mix for my hair’s monthly dose of protein.

When I first tried this type of protein treatment the results were a bit lackluster.  I came to the conclusion that the conditioner I used was all wrong not the technique.  This time I used Trader Joe’s Nourish Spa Conditioner* which contains soy protein.  It’s not as super thick as I like my conditioners to be, but it was sufficient (and very inexpensive at just under $3).  I mixed the conditioner with one egg and applied it to freshly washed hair.  I put on a plastic cap and wrapped my head with a towel.  After about an hour, I rinsed it out thoroughly.

Since moisturizing treatments are recommended after protein treatments, I followed with my trusty olive oil and conditioner deep treatment (love it).  My hair felt as lovely as it always does after moisturizing treatments.

I will most likely be sticking to a protein conditioner (with or without eggs mixed in) for my strengthening routine.  Which conditioner I use may be the only element subject to change as I like the Trader Joe’s conditioner but I don’t love it.  I’ve read good things about Aubrey Organics Island Naturals Replenishing Conditioner which contains almond protein.  If Island Naturals is anything like AO’s Honey Suckle Rose Moisturizing Conditioner, I just might love it.  Creamy conditioner treatments are here to stay for me; I like the simplicity of them.

*Ingredients: Purified water, organic rosemary oil, organic valencia orange citrus, organic mango, organic lemongrass, organic ginko biloba, organic echinacea, organic willow bark, organic sea kelp, organic chamomile flower, organic textured soy protein, organic lavender, organic grapefruit citrus, Tocopherol (Vitamin E), Acetamide MEA, Cetyl Alcohol, Citric Acid, Methylparaben, propylparaben, botanical fragrance
2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 27, 2009 7:46 pm

    I just bought the aubrey organics protein balancing conditioner! will let you know if it’s an awesome must have ;)

    http://socialitedreams.wordpress.com/

    • Regina permalink*
      December 27, 2009 7:49 pm

      Please do! Thanks.

Leave a Reply

