Skip to content

More Experimenting with Homeade Shampoo

December 10, 2009

Feeling like I could add something to my DIY castille soap shampoo, I started experimenting again.  I figured I could thicken it up a bit with more raw honey and, just for the heck of it, I added a tad more oil.

Here’s my current recipe:

4 0z. castile soap

2 oz. water

2 heaping tbsp organic raw honey

1 tsp sweet almond oil

1 tsp jojoba oil

It was a bit thicker and I love the light honey scent.

Until next time…

:)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2009 10:59 pm

    That sounds like a delicious shampoo, lol. Bet the shower smells great!

    http://socialitedreams.wordpress.com/

    • Regina permalink*
      December 15, 2009 11:39 pm

      I do love it at the moment. :)

  2. Christine permalink
    January 30, 2010 11:52 pm

    Hi I’m looking for the castile soap, but it comes it different favor like lavender, peppermint, almond and tea tree. Which one would you recommend? or it doesn’t really matter

    • Regina permalink*
      January 31, 2010 9:51 am

      It’s a personal preference. And different oils found in different castile soaps will have varied benefits. But tea tree has anti fungal properties and has been shown to help dandruff and acne. So, if those conditions are concerns of yours tea tree might be a good choice. Essential oil of Lavender has antiseptic and anti inflammatory properties and is used for relaxation in aromatherapy. Peppermint oil has a tingling effect and I read that it helps balance the scalp’s PH levels and stimulates hair follicles. I don’t know what percentage of these oils are found in the soaps. I prefer almond, almond with shea butter or plain castile soap. Hope that helps.

Leave a Reply

