Skip to content

Washing My Coils – Reloaded

November 27, 2009

Some things have changed since the original posting of my shampoo routine.  Here’s my current technique:

  1. Coconut Oil Pre-Shampoo Treatment: I spread coconut oil from root to tip at least an hour before washing.  Coconut oil penetrates the hair and helps hair retain moisture.
  2. Twist: Before shampooing,  I detangle with conditioner or a water-conditioner spritz.  Initially, I finger comb then I use a wide tooth seamless comb to detangle completely.  I put my hair into about 8 or so chunky twists to keep my hair from getting tangled during the shampooing.
  3. Shampoo: I prefer diluted castile soap shampoo over co-washes.  While shampooing, I massage and squeeze out each twist instead of vigorously rubbing.
  4. T-shirt Blot: I wrap a T-shirt over my hair to blot the excess water out of my hair. (No rubbing.)  When I remove the t-shirt, I might gently squeeze water out of some of the twists.
  5. Deep Treatment: I apply a thick moisturizing conditioner (usually mixed with some olive oil) and leave it on for 40 minutes to an hour.  If I’m doing my monthly protein treatment, it’s done first and then I follow with the moisturizing deep conditioner.
  6. ACV Rinse: My apple cider vinegar rinse consists of  1 tablespoon of ACV to 1 cup of warm water.  I rinse my hair with it after I’ve washed out the deep conditioner and follow with a cold final rinse. (Honestly, I’ve really slacked off on these, but I do them occasionally.)
  7. Oil: Castor oil is my oil of choice for my scalp.
  8. Leave-in conditioner: Honey Hemp Hair Conditioner does the trick during warm months.  Shealoe does the trick during winter months.
  9. Seal: I coat the entire twist with a petroleum-free pomade.
  10. Air-dry: I sleep with a satin scarf and let my hair air-dry overnight.

Those are my steps and they seem to be working for me.

:)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 21, 2009 4:53 am

    Sounds like this is working out well for you! I can’t wait to give it a try. I’m hoping to ween myself off of commercial hair products by the end of the year. I’d like to be able to use the same products on my skin and hair, like black soap.

    • Regina permalink*
      December 21, 2009 11:11 am

      Hello! I agree products that are multipurpose (skin, hair etc.) are best.

  2. Christine permalink
    February 23, 2010 6:34 pm

    Hi I have two link for you …http://www.saffronrouge.com …its kind of expensive , but its all organic products. Last but not least http://www.vitacost.com which is a website you can get all your products for cheap. Check it out when you can.

  3. chisom permalink
    November 4, 2010 10:10 pm

    Hi Gina, I need a new routine so I’d love to try this out! I’m going through a major hair rut so I’ll be checking out your site more often :)

    • Regina permalink*
      November 5, 2010 8:53 am

      Let me know how it turns out Chisom!

Leave a Reply

