Skip to content

Wearing Her Crown — Erika

November 22, 2009


When did you go natural and why?
I stopped relaxing my hair exactly two years ago. I had been growing tired of relaxing my hair for a while but I think majoring in Africana Studies in college helped me to appreciate the beauty of my hair in its natural state. I realized that by conforming to European standards of beauty (in terms of hair anyway) and accepting it as the only standard, I was denying [the value of] my own.

Did you transition or do a big chop (BC)? If you transitioned, what were your transition styles?
I transitioned by wearing cornrows, box braids, and occasionally roller sets. I have an “interestingly” shaped head so I didn’t think that a big chop would do me any justice! Every time I washed and conditioned my hair, I would cut off more and more hair until there was more natural hair than permed. I then chopped off the rest.

What were some of your challenges (if any) as a new natural?
I can’t say that I really had any challenges. However, I did have to get accustomed to the different maintenance ritual though. When my hair was relaxed, I would take just 30 seconds to wrap my hair and tie it up at night, and in the morning, it took a minute to comb it out, style and go. Now, I have to take a bit more time to braid or twist it up at night. It also takes me a few more minutes to brush through, pick out, and pad in my hair in the morning. It was a pain at first, but I found products and tools that help me to manage my hair well and it’s pretty much a breeze now.

What’s your signature style?
My Afro of course! Occasionally, I wear cornrows or even box braids, but 80% of the time I wear my ‘fro. Sometimes, I wear a headband with my ‘fro, but I don’t like anything tugging at my edges too much so I really limit headband usage. On the weekends, I may take out my twists and finger style for a different look. Since I am a new natural, I am still trying new styles, but I have already realized that natural hair is very versatile.


What hair products do you like?

I love Oyin Handmade. I use their Whipped Pudding as a moisturizer/conditioner and their Juices and Berries spritz as a leave in conditioner/detangler. I am also a fan of their all over wash because it cleanses my hair and scalp completely. I love that they are made with all natural ingredients and make my hair really manageable. A bonus is that they smell incredible! Another product that I use is Jane Carter Solution Hair Nourishing Cream for luster, and daily styling.


What do you love most about being natural?
I love showing people that it’s okay to be natural; you won’t be any less beautiful than you were with straight hair! I also love that I have already inspired two people to go natural!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Ameerah permalink
    December 16, 2009 9:28 pm

    very pretty!! I luv ur fro…I’m envious …it’s soo great =)

  2. Amma Mama permalink
    December 21, 2009 3:03 pm

    You’re so pretty! and I LOVE your hair!

  3. Erika permalink
    December 24, 2009 9:29 pm

    Thank you Ladies! And thank you Regina for featuring me!

    • Regina permalink*
      December 24, 2009 10:06 pm

      My pleasure Erika.

  4. April 21, 2010 8:40 am

    Jane Carter Solution products are wonderful….I love Hair Nourishing Cream as well, along with Scalp Renew and Revitalizing Leave-In Conditoner!

    Did you hear that her products are now in Target stores nationwide?!?! Run and tell someone, EVERYONE girl! LOL

    Smooches

Leave a Reply

