Skip to content

My Twists

November 4, 2009

twists1

I do two strand twists every now and again.  I shampoo, oil my scalp, and twist (sealing with shea butter as I go).  After air-drying overnight, I pin the twists up. They last for around 2 weeks (next time I’ll try for three).  Conditioner washing once a week keeps my hair and scalp cleansed.

I like leaving the twists intact for more durability.  Twist-outs are a rarity for me.  I always pin my hair up in some fashion when  wearing  two-strand twists (whether I unravel them or not).  My hair is fine and so my twists don’t result the big thick twist-outs that I love.

When wearing twists, I make sure to spritz my hair for moisture daily and sleep in a satin bonnet.  This is my “go to” for a respite from hairstyling.

Until next time….

:)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 6, 2009 5:30 pm

    I have thin hair also. I find as my twist-out “ages” it gets fuller, try it. :)

    • Regina permalink*
      November 6, 2009 11:26 pm

      Thanks Monica. I’ll give it a go.

  2. Kadiane*francophone permalink
    November 9, 2009 12:06 am

    I like the result. I usually have a hard time pinning them down because i do not do it just for the day i like to leave my hair alone while in twist . It just doesn’t not work . I usually have to remove the pins after 2 days and put them in again and it is not easy. My hair is not long enough. How about you ? You do not do protective styles often, do you have a length retention option or …you just do not care much?

    • Regina permalink*
      November 9, 2009 10:25 am

      Thanks. As for protective styles, my understanding is that these styles are the ones that keep your ends tucked in and protected from the elements or rubbing against clothes etc…and low manipulations styles like braids twists and such. So I consider most of the styles that I’ve been showing as protective except for my puffs. I do a lot of rolls and minirolls which keeps my hair up and tucked in. Also, I don’t restyle that often between washes or use heat often. (In fact, I haven’t used a hooded dryer in long time and I haven’t flat ironed since 2007.) I’d love to retain more length but I’m not obsessed with it. I’m actually quite happy with my current length. So I just focus on maintaining it.

  3. Kadiane*francophone permalink
    November 9, 2009 2:19 pm

    How about the pins in the hair. Do you have a way of keeping them in longer or a pinning technique lol ?

    • Regina permalink*
      November 9, 2009 11:00 pm

      No, I don’t have any special pinning technique. I just use a mix of bobby pins and small hairpins and make sure that they are secure. If it feels a little loose, I just reposition it or take a twist or two out of that section. :)

  4. December 8, 2009 11:39 pm

    I wear my hair similarly. When I do bigger twists when rushed, I pin them up in bunches all toward the middle of my head (sometimes making a slight hump in the front).

    Otherwise, if the twists are smaller and neater, I just braid or twist them together to hold them together for up to 2 weeks.

Leave a Reply

