Skip to content

Wearing Her Crown–Lori

November 2, 2009

Lori1

When did you go natural and why?
I went natural by accident.  I had previously cut my hair short in a spike style after a long season of weaves.  I started running 2 miles during lunch and the hairdo did not last.  So, I started wearing quick weaves and this led to full lace wigs.

So, for 3 years I wore the finest full lace wigs.  I was the go to person in my area for full lace advice.   With me working out, all the expensive adhesives just were not working anymore.  So, a gym friend of mine had already gone natural and we started talking.  Keep in mind, all this time my hair was strong and had grown to my shoulders stretched out.    My husband kept saying you should wear your own hair, it looks healthy.  My friend wore “the puff”.  I liked it on her, but I wanted an Afro.  I just leaped from a full lace wig to a natural in one weekend.  My picture was in the paper for my band’s performance that weekend, so everybody saw the change.Lori3


Did you transition or do a big chop (BC)?  If you transitioned, what were your transition styles?

There was no transitioning style.  I went to the twist at night for a ‘fro by day.  You can say the full lace, but I did not plan it that way.


What were some of your challenges (if any) as a new natural?
The challenge was shrinkage.  What happened to all the length I had when it was in big plaits for weeks?  Product after product that promised elongation….yeah right!

What have you done to deal with shrinkage or is it not a problem for you now?  Did you decide to just work with it?
I have just started enjoying wearing the wash n’ go TWA.  I am actually liking it because it appears to assist in slimmerizing my entire body.  It make me look longer/slender.

What’s your signature style?
The Afro, now TWA…just allowing it to roll up and park anywhere… nappy makes me happy now. I am washing and just allowing the natural curl process to work for me.  I have about 80% shrinkage.  No more manipulating right now.  I am enjoying the low style.  It definitely slenderizes.

What hair products do you like?
Right now I am bouncing between Karen’s Body Beautiful and Jane Carter Solutions.  KBB takes too long to ship.  I have to have access.  I usually go to Whole Foods and this just makes it easier to buy JCS.  They sell out so fast.

What do you love most about being natural?
The freedom and the fact that so many people of all ethnicities are interested in what I am doing with my hair.  It is a journey that my friends, coworkers and associates are taking part in.  It is teaching myself and others about black history all over again.

Lori2

Lori is the singer/songwriter for Yowcha, a gospel blues band based in Louisiana.  Check out Yowcha’s music here.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Lobo permalink
    November 3, 2009 12:14 am

    Thanks Regina, for a very nice story. You write very well. I am gracious to be feautured in your column. God bless you.

    LoBo

    • Regina permalink*
      November 3, 2009 12:23 am

      Thank you! It was great having you participate.

  2. Sylvia permalink
    November 3, 2009 12:05 pm

    I enjoyed reading your article. It contains a lot of information for those who are thinking about going natural. I’ve been wearing wigs for years with my natural hair braided underneath. Your interview with Lori may give me enough courage to take the wig off.

    • Regina permalink*
      November 3, 2009 12:14 pm

      That is wonderful Sylvia. Thanks for reading!

  3. LoBo permalink
    November 3, 2009 2:47 pm

    That is wonderful Sylvia. You have beautiful hair.

  4. Sharon permalink
    November 3, 2009 6:09 pm

    Very good story. I too am a natural. I love the fact that I can just wash and go. At first I was unsure of what my husband and family would think. But after seeing the great saving of money and time not spent at the hair salon, he thinks it is well worth it. LoBO keep up the good work, you are an inspiration to us all.

Leave a Reply

