Skip to content

Coconut Oil…Yay?

October 28, 2009

coco

Well, here we are again with the coconut crisis.  A couple of people suggested giving this oil another try after my unsatisfying attempts to use it as a sealant and pre-shampoo.  I kept reading about how beneficial it can be for the hair, so I said what the heck.

I fingered combed my hair into halves.  Then, I cupped my hand and poured in a small palmfull (about 1 tbsp) of coconut oil .  I rubbed my hands together to spread the oil and smoothed it  all over one section of hair.  I applied coconut oil to the other half using another palm of coconut oil.  I let it sit for about 30-40 minutes (no plastic cap or anything).

When I was ready to wash, I used some conditioner to comb through my hair with a wide tooth comb and put it in big twists covering my  hair.  I washed it with castille shampoo.  I deep conditioned with some cheapie conditioner (VO5) mixed with one of my favs, olive oil.   I conditioned for about an hour and rinsed thoroughly.  One at a time, I unraveled each twist and sealed the entire length with my new shealoe mix.  (More on the shea butter and aloe vera gel mix in an upcoming post!)  I retwisted and put some castor oil on my ends.  As usual, I let it air dry overnight.

I think the deep conditioning really made a difference here.  My hair has such a good reaction to olive oil; how can I go wrong when it’s in the mix?  My hair was soft after the DC and final rinse.  None of the previous coconut crunchiness here!

The jury’s still out for me on coconut oil as a sealant but most of the benefits that I wanted from it are achieved with a pre-poo treatment like penetrating the hair to make it stronger and preventing it from swelling when it’s wet.  (You can read more about the science on coconut oil penetrating the hair’s cortex and hygral fatigue on The Natural Haven here and here.)  Coconut oil…gets a yay for now.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. kadiane*francophone permalink
    October 29, 2009 8:48 pm

    Finally! I wonder if you would have had the same result just with the vo5 or any efficient DC . By the way, can you share the proportion of your DC mix. I have put the coconut oil in after i washed my hair so that it stays in for at least 24h (# of hours now recommended on the natural haven blog). I actually will wash after a week so my 24h will always be done. The only good thing i have noticed so far is that it makes finger detangling very easy when the hair is stretched. Super super easy.

    • Regina permalink*
      October 29, 2009 9:11 pm

      I know. ha. I am not sure if I would have achieved the same results with VO5 alone as the mix is the only way I’ve tried it so far. I would say that the VO5 is rather thin so I wouldn’t DC with it alone. I feel like it needs the extra boost from the olive oil. If you want to try a different conditioner, I would suggest a thick one of your liking with or without olive oil.

      As for my mix. I don’t always measure. I’m an eyeballer. :) I used 2 tbsp of olive oil but I didn’t measure the conditioner. I would say it was about 4 tbsp.

      Coconut oil as a detangler? hmmm.

      I didn’t know about the 24 hours deal.

  2. kadiane*francophone permalink
    October 30, 2009 10:47 am

    ha.lol
    the 24 h deal was posted about 2 or 3 weeks ago this month…i know…

    Yep coconut oil for my finger detangling on dry stretched hair before washing . I did not need my baby pin (?) to undo some knots. i tried it again 2 days later after my hair was washed and braided. It was not as efficient. I is probably because i did not put that much oil in it since i was not going to wash it. I might use it to detangle when i do not want shrinkage before styling. I might mix it with a oil-free detangler for styling purposes

  3. ensabanur permalink
    December 30, 2010 11:13 pm

    I use coconut oil for my finger detangling on dry, stretched hair before washing too! I also add a little to my leave-in conditioners.

    • Regina permalink*
      December 30, 2010 11:31 pm

      Thanks for sharing ensabanur. I doubt I will add any coconut oil to my leave-in due to my hair’s reaction to the oil when damp (crunchy).

Leave a Reply

