Skip to content

Motorcitymoxie’s Cinna-buns

October 25, 2009

DSCN0410

I was checking out some youtube vids and ended up watching some of motorcitymoxie’s videos.  She has a tutorial up for a hairstyle she calls Cinna-buns.  (The tutorial is in two parts so click here for part 2.)  I loved it!  The style looked quick and easy so I had to try it.

I did this style on hair that had been washed the day before and air dried overnight (as usual).  I used Oyin handmade Shine and Define and a boar bristle brush to smooth my edges.  My scalp had been oiled with a petroleum free pomade.

This style is something that I can do quickly before work etc….  It takes much less time then my minirolls (still love my minis tho’).  And my ends were nice and protected. (When I removed this style, I loved that my ends were very far from dry.)  I rocked this style for around 5 days or so like most of my styles.

This is definitely something to use when you need a quick cute style.  Thanks for posting motorcity.

DSCN0445

8 Comments leave one →
  1. kadiane*francophone permalink
    October 25, 2009 4:47 pm

    I’m glad you tried it ( for everybody else : no i’m not motorcitymoxie lol).
    I was going to ask you about the miniroll bcuz i was wondering if they were easier. I tried the cinna-buns again about a mth ago and bcuz my hair was not as stretched as the first time, is was not pretty becuz the hair was poofier and it will not hold. I though about your minirolls and tried to guess how you do them but i failed… I promised myself back then to ask you . I still want to know how bcuz the cinna-buns do not always work for me and the minis mights be an alternative. I would have like to see a picture of the 5th day. Thanks for all your interesting posts

    • Regina permalink*
      October 25, 2009 10:27 pm

      Thanks for tuning in as always Kadiane. I do the minirolls similar to the cinna-rolls the main difference is when I do the minis, I usually two strand twist the ends and then roll the hair down on my fingers until I get it the size I want then I pin the hair down with small hair pins. Also, I don’t use a knee high to hold my hair up when I do the minis. I just randomly roll and go with the flow. Sorry I know sometimes it’s easier to just watch a video and see it, but I am still working on those. As for the pic of the last day…. Honestly, since I tie my hair down at night and pretty much never had a problem with my satin scarf slipping off at night, the last day usually still looks pretty much the same. Plus, I’ll usually spritz my hair with some Juices and Berries (or any water spritz I’m using) then tie it up for the night with a satin scarf. In the morning, the style looks refreshed especially around the edges. I’ll keep it in mind to take a photo of the style after a couple of days have gone by.

  2. Miss E permalink
    October 26, 2009 9:26 pm

    This is too cute! I’s like to try this too, but I havent got the length yet. It seems pretty fast.

    • Regina permalink*
      October 26, 2009 11:59 pm

      Thanks. You have to keep me posted when you get the length.

  3. kadiane*francophone permalink
    October 27, 2009 6:10 pm

    thanks Regina, I’ll have never guessed.For the water spritz, is it just for moisturizing purposes or does it help to keep the style fresh?

    • Regina permalink*
      October 27, 2009 9:43 pm

      Kadiane, I guess it would be both. I don’t do it every night. I should have clarified that before. I do it after a couple of days for refreshing.

      Rolls may get slightly flatter from sleeping on it (with or without the spritz) but I don’t think it’s that noticeable (at least not in a bad way). Actually, the top pic in this post is of the day of styling and the smaller pic is after I slept on it.

      Usually, I like the look my styles have the day after I’ve styled it more so than the actual day of the style (unless it’s a loose style). As for the cinna-buns, I don’t have a preference. I like them before and after.

  4. Motorcitymoxie permalink
    February 15, 2011 3:59 pm

    Hey, it looks great!

    Best,
    Mo

    • Regina permalink*
      February 15, 2011 4:00 pm

      Hi Mo. Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

