Skip to content

Deep Conditioning With Delectable Honey

October 20, 2009

honey
I’m all about moisture and any treatment that is supposed to be good for moisture. Enter honey, the humectant (a substance that promotes the retention of moisture).  I’ve been incorporating organic raw honey into my hair regime by adding it to my homeade shampoo.  The next experiment would naturally be to add some honey to a deep conditioning treatment.

I wanted to mix it with a thick conditioner, but I had run out of conditioner of that sort, unfortunately.  Instead, I softened two tablespoons of honey in the microwave and mixed it with an equal part of olive oil.  After washing, I applied the mix and I sat with a plastic cap and towel for about 40 minutes.  When I rinsed it out, I had the same fabulously soft results I normally do whenever olive oil is involved.  Hence the problem: I don’t exactly know what the honey did.   I get those result without honey. I found a honey treatment online that suggested using a honey and oil treatment on dry hair as a pre-shampoo treatment.  Should I try it that way just for good measure? (Maybe.)

In any event, I read that honey has antibacterial properties and I do like its light sweet scent. No real losers here.  I’ll still be adding honey to my concoctions.

Until next time coilies.

**Update, October 21, 2009:  I was thinking about this post and wondered if I was missing the whole “honey as a humectant” point a bit.  I got caught up on the softness that I believe was  caused by using a penetrating oil (olive) that I didn’t fully evaluate whether or not my hair had taken in moisture.  I read on The Natural Haven that when you moisturize, your hair shrinks since it has taken in some water.  I’m not going to pretend to remember my shrinkage level after this treatment.  Next treatment, I’ll make a note of it and see if the honey treatment is working for me.

:)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 8, 2009 5:49 pm

    Sigh!! So beautiful and just for my hair type! I love upswept hairdos and cinnabuns is for me! I need to start practicing it.

    • Regina permalink*
      December 8, 2009 10:43 pm

      Thanks. I love updos myself (as you can probably see). I doubt you will need much practice. It is really easy. :)

  2. September 12, 2010 10:16 pm

    My hair loves honey! I add it to my spritz, shealoe and DC mixes. It’s awesome!

    • Regina permalink*
      September 12, 2010 10:40 pm

      I haven’t been deep condtioning with honey lately. Right now, I love honey in my shampoo mix. I never thought to put some in a shealoe mix.

Leave a Reply

