Skip to content

Protein Treatments-Part 2

October 3, 2009

egg

I’m still trying to get a routine down for my protein treatments.  For my most recent protein experiment, I used this recipe from Motown Girl:

Protein Conditioner

1 egg white

5 tablespoons of plain yogurt

Beat egg white until foamy, mix in yogurt and apply to hair in small sections.  Leave on for 15 minutes.  After you’ve rinsed thoroughly, apply a moisturizing deep conditioner.

I had the ingredients in my fridge. ( I love that about these home mixes.) I mixed and applied. The yogurt mix was very runny once applied.  I couldn’t get the plastic cap on quick enough; even after I put it on, I had to keep a towel on my neck to catch the drippings.  (Not good). I wrapped a towel around the plastic cap and sat for 15 minutes.

As directed, I followed up with a deep conditioning using the last bit of my Carol’s Daughter Black Vanilla Hair Smoothie mixed with olive oil.  My hair felt nice and moisturized after the treatments.  I sealed with castor oil and left my hair in twists to air dry as I normally do.

Well, the yogurt was runny but I think it did what it was supposed to do. Yogurt does contain protein so this was like a double dose, I suppose, combined with the egg white.  But the yogurt was just a little too runny for my liking.  I’ll probably be trying the egg and honey mix I saw on Motown Girl for next month’s protein treatment.

In the past week or so ( I did this treatment about 1¹⁄² weeks ago.)  my shedding seems to be under control.  I’ve noticed that some protein treatment products and recipes require using a moisturizing deep treatment directly after. So this must be what the protein-moisture balance is all about. Hair needs the strength from the protein but it also needs moisture.  Balancing out the two will help keep the hair strong.  Too much of either is not good.  If you have too much moisture, the hair will be lacking strength.  If you have too much protein, the hair may become hard and break.    Hmm….

Until next time….

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

