Skip to content

Coily Cogitations

September 30, 2009

A friend of mine told me recently that her 11 year-old daughter told her how much she loves Ms. Gina’s (that’s me) hair.  It made me feel good to be an example to someone of the younger generation when it comes to self acceptance and loving who you are.  Her mom is still in the early stages of her loc journey.  So, I’m sure that the influence and appreciation started at home.

I thought about my childhood and the fact that I don’t remember any of my older female relatives or friends wearing their natural hair.  It just wasn’t done.  My hair stayed pressed throughout most of my early childhood (except during the summer, when I got to let my cornrows rock) while my mom and aunties had perms, jheri curls, wigs and weaves.

What you see is also what you learn.  By being comfortable and confident in my own coils, I’m showing the younger generation that they can appreciate theirs.  I love being a part of that movement.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

