Skip to content

Save Money. Make Your Shampoo.

September 27, 2009

piggybank

Trying to be economical, I made some shampoo instead of ordering my favorite sulfate free shampoo.  I used Dr. Woods Tea Tree Castile Soap.  You can get a 32 oz. bottle for around $10 at a local beauty supply store or online.   (That’s a lot of soap.)   I only made a small amount due to this being an experimental run.  Here’s my mix:

4 0z. castile soap

2 oz. water

1 heaping tbsp organic raw honey (for moisture)

1 tsp sweet almond oil (for moisture, shine)

I softened the honey in the microwave for a few seconds, mixed all the ingredients together in a bowl and funneled it into a clean empty 8 oz. shampoo bottle.

Castile Soap Shampoo

It did the trick.  My hair was clean and not hard.  The mix didn’t create any softness to rave about, but it definitely didn’t leave it hard, crunchy or brittle which is the least I ask for.

A full 32 oz. bottle of castile soap, I’m sure,  will last quite a while.  So, I will definitely be getting more use out of these homemade mixtures then buying a small bottle of shampoo for roughly the same price.  If I keep up the soap to water ratio that I’m currently using, then for every 8oz. bottle of shampoo I make, I’ll be using 4 0z. of soap. Which means I’ll get 8 bottles of shampoo out of my 32 0z.  bottle of castile soap.  (That is, if I only use it for that purpose.  It makes a good body wash too.)

I am going to be making more shampoo.  I’ll be experimenting with the measurements and most likely be adding some jojoba oil to the mix.  I’ll keep you posted.

:)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kadiane*francophone permalink
    September 27, 2009 1:18 pm

    hi regina,
    does almond oil made the hair particularly shiny ?

    • Regina permalink*
      September 27, 2009 6:57 pm

      Hello Kadiane. In my experience, not particularly. But when I was looking up information on it, its benefits were said to be shine and moisture. I like jojoba oil more. Almond oil is very light which is fine, but I like heavier oils and butters for my hair.

Leave a Reply

