Skip to content

Olive Oil. Yay or Nay?

September 21, 2009

oliveoil

I had to try olive oil after my not so successful attempts at using coconut oil.  I read on The Olive Oil Source that this oil contains vitamins E and K, both of which are beneficial for hair.  Olive oil  is also said to be very moisturizing.  Well, I had to find out.

I had a small amount (about an ounce) of Carol’s Daughter Black Vanilla Hair Smoothie* lying around (that I was trying to get rid of)  and so I mixed it with about three tablespoons of olive oil.  After washing and t-shirt blotting my hair , I unraveled a twist (If you don’t know by now, I wash my hair while it’s in twists.) and thoroughly applied the olive oil-conditioner mix on the entire section and retwisted.  I did this to every twist, put on a plastic cap and wrapped a towel over it.  I deep conditioned for about 40 minutes.

Well!  My hair felt very soft after I rinsed out the olive oil-conditioner mix.  The next day, the super softness hadn’t stayed overnight but my hair still felt lovely.  It wasn’t dull or hard (like it felt after the coconut oil).  So, here’s one oil treatment that worked. Yay!  I will definitely be using more olive oil.

Note: I deep conditioned with only the Black Vanilla Smoothie in the past and even though it has a bit of olive oil in it, the results were nothing like this.  I believe that the added olive oil did the trick.  Nevertheless, I will still be trying the olive oil with other mixes and on its own as well and reporting the results.  I’ll keep you posted.

*Ingredients: Water (Aqua), Cetearyl Alcohol, Glycerin, Amodimethicone, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed oil, Brassicamidopropyl Dimethylamine, Olea Europaea (Olive)Fruit Oil, Peg-40 Castor Oil, Prunus Amygdalys Dulcis (Sweet Almond)Oil, Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) germ Oil, Fragrance, Phenoxyethanol (and) Caprylyl Glycol (and) Potassium Sorbate, (and) Hexylene Glycol, Aspartic Acid, polysorbate 20, Cyclopentasiloxane, Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Seed Butter, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Tetrasodium EDTA, Simethicone, Panthenol, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2009 3:21 am

    Hello, Very nice blog my sista. Love the layout.

    To Your Success,

    Darrin

    • Regina permalink*
      September 22, 2009 10:06 am

      Thank you so much Darrin. :)

  2. Kadiane*francophone permalink
    September 22, 2009 7:04 pm

    Funny i was olive oiling my hair for pre-poo for the first when i decided to check out your blog. There are so many other product in my hair ( put in during the week) that i don’t know if i would know the real effect on my hair. It is definitely not hardening the hair as i have been using it for about a week now. I’ll keep you posted. Tx for sharing

  3. Kadiane*francophone permalink
    September 22, 2009 7:14 pm

    t-shirt blotting ? Why?

    • Regina permalink*
      September 22, 2009 9:42 pm

      After washing, I use a t-shirt to blot the water out of my hair instead of a towel. Towels are said to be harsher, snag the hair and cause frizziness.

Leave a Reply

