Skip to content

Coconut Oil. Yay or Nay?

September 13, 2009

coconut

I love coconut elements (mainly in skin products and food) so, I was excited to try coconut oil in my hair.  I purchased some Vitamin Shoppe brand unrefined extra virgin  coconut oil for around $9.  Unfortunately, this oil definitely did not agree with my hair.

When I first tried it, I used it as a sealant after washing.   I washed as usual and put the oil mainly on my ends .  I retwisted my hair, air-dried it a bit  and slept with a silk scarf.  In the morning, all the softness and everything else I’d heard raved about when it comes to coconut oil, had not happened.  My hair felt hard and looked a bit dull.  What a disappointment.  Maybe I used too much?  I’m not usually heavy handed with products.  Later, I read on The Natural Haven that one fingertip of coconut oil should be enough to moisturize the hair.   Hmm?  If that’s the case, yeah maybe I used too much.

I wasn’t ready to give up on coconut oil.  I figured I’d use the oil as a pre-shampoo treatment on dry hair thinking that might work better.  I detangled and sectioned, rubbed some coconut oil on my hair (I used a  substantial amount again which is supposed to be ok since it’s more of an oil treatment with this method), covered my hair with a plastic cap and let it sit for about an hour.  After that, I shampooed and applied some leave in conditioner.  The next day, after air-drying overnight, my hair had the same terrible results.  Maybe this oil just isn’t working for me.  I’ll be using the rest of the jar that I bought as a skin moisturizer, I suppose.  I probably won’t be finding out if the third try will be the charm.  I’ll keep you posted if I change my mind.

:(

PS:  Back when I did my protein treatment, I mentioned that my hair felt hard after I washed out the egg and conditioner mixture.  Well, I checked the conditioner ingredients again and coconut oil is the very first ingredient.  I do believe I found the culprit.  Like I said, I will be doing the egg protein treatment again so I’ll just have a different conditioner next time.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Kadiane*francophone permalink
    September 13, 2009 3:58 pm

    Lolll. I used it once I think and I felt my hair was harder. It’s after that, that i discovered it was good for the hair. I was thinking of using it as a pre shampoo. Now it won’t bother trying. I also have castor oil and i found it too sticky. I’m thinking of mixing the 2 to still get the benefits of coconut oil. Same think for shea butter witch can be too sticky at times. I’ve not done it yet cuz i still have olive oil and it has the same benefits (see the natural heaven)..and it is smoother. I do not use oils much cuz I have a scalp condition so I have to be carefull with them :(

    • Regina permalink*
      September 13, 2009 7:29 pm

      I’ve heard a lot of ladies say that they had the same results using coconut oil. But some people swear by it. So…I guess it’s just trial and error. I love castor oil. It can be pretty thick but my hair doesn’t feel overly sticky with it or with shea. I am working on a post about my experience with olive oil so stay tuned.

  2. Kadiane*francophone permalink
    September 13, 2009 11:40 pm

    How about mixing it with the heavy transparent curl activator ( a load of glycerin) ? We’ve got to find a way to use that coconut oil Loll. If i do it, i will let you know.

    • Regina permalink*
      September 14, 2009 10:07 am

      Well let me know of your results, but I am not too keen on curl activator or straight glycerin. I’ve heard lots about glycerin but I haven’t been using it.

  3. September 24, 2009 8:36 am

    Coconut oil is now known as a very good beauty regimen for skin and hair. It can really be healthy for our body as a whole both inside and out. Maybe you just missed out on something that’s why it did not work well on your hair. Give it a try again and it will surely work. Just trial and error. Thanks for sharing your experience.

Leave a Reply

