Skip to content

Questions, Naturally

September 1, 2009

questions

One of Coily Crowns readers, Kadiane,  asked me several questions recently.   I decided to answer them in a post in case anyone else has similar questions.  Here they are:

So how often do you wash [your hair] per week?

I usually wash my hair once a week with a sulfate free shampoo like Oyin Handmade’s Honey Wash.  But recently I’ve decided that I’m going to try diluted castille soap for shampooing.  Many beauty supplies stores sell large 32 oz bottles for about $10.  I will post the results on that shortly.

Have you always used the boar bristle brush?  I know that it probably does the job, but I also know that it is harsher on the cuticles.  I’m thinking that if you have been using it since your BC, then it might not be that dangerous.

I’ve been using a boar bristle brush for about 2 years.  I started using it to smooth out my nape and my edges because I remembered boar bristle brushes being used on my hair when I was young and just figured it should be ok (not that all hair practices we may remember from childhood are actually good).  Fortunately, after some reading, I realized that natural boar bristle brushes could help distribute oils in your hair and may look harsh but actually aren’t.  You can even find that some brushes will be labeled soft or medium etc… so just stick to soft bristled boar brushes.  Here’s an excerpt from AOL Black Voices Hair Talk regarding boar bristle brushes:

People tend to be afraid of these brushes because their bristles are hard and rigid. However, this stiffness allows the bristles to penetrate the hair, stimulate the scalp and distribute natural oils.

The bristles are collected from boars, sterilized to remove bacteria and then fitted into the brush base. The boar hair actually absorbs and carries the oil, distributing it along the hair shaft. This creates shiny hair that will become healthier with consistent use.

For the full post click here.

Long Locks suggests not using a brush at all in most cases. But suggests that if you do want to brush, you should  “use only natural boar bristle brushes, which are useful in distributing sebum (your hair’s natural protective oils) to the ends of your hair and to remove loose hairs”.

I do also want to point out that I really only brush my hairline and nape for smoothing when I style.  I don’t brush my hair all the way through from root to ends.

Finally, how does [Oyin Handmade’s] Juices and Berries work for you?  Do you have to put it in every day? Does is really detangle?  Do you know any product that works the same ?

I love Oyin’s Juices and Berries. However,  I don’t really use it as a detangler.  I use it as a moisturizer after I’ve styled my hair or before I tie my hair up with my satin scarf before bed.  I love the shine it gives as well.   I also have a 3 oz travel size spray bottle (I keep it in my purse-ha.) that contains a mixture of water and J & B to spritz my hair with if I feel like it needs a quick refreshing blast (mainly in summer).  I don’t always use it every day, but I do use it often.  I’m sure that there are other mixtures or products that will do the same, but I’ll stick to my J &B.

Well, I hope that helps or at least answers all of your questions.  Thanks for reading!

:)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Kadiane*francophone permalink
    September 1, 2009 7:15 pm

    Thanks very much regina. Yes that helps. For the boar bristle brush i wanted to know your experience and i’m happy to hear that it is possible to use it from time to time without seeing my hairline disappear. I have to say though that you might not want to trust Black Voices Hair Talk as it is scientifically known that each time we manipulate our hair no matter how, we weaken the cuticles and the harder the instrument the worst. Now, we have no choice then style our hair so we have to use the least damaging methods cuz all of them are damaging anyway. Even the wide tooth comb. You can verify this on ” the natural heaven” blog. I just thought with my kind of hair the boar bristle brush would be an absolute no no. If you have been using it for 3 yrs and still have your hairline then i can use it too ( i hope my hair is not weaker then yours lol). I’m glad to know about the soft and medium ones.
    For Oyin, i though i had found an effective detangler for kinky hair. i wanted something better then ‘”soft and beautiful just for me “. Oh well.

    Thanks again. I have a lot of other questions but i’ll try to pop one out once a week unless i can’t resist lol.

    • Regina permalink*
      September 2, 2009 2:20 pm

      Your welcome and thanks for your info as well. I agree that not all information on the internet is helpful so it’s best to do a little extra research. And big oops on my part, I’ve been using the boar brush for 2 yrs not 3 will fix that. Sorry.

  2. Ameerah permalink
    September 13, 2009 5:28 pm

    Sometimes I smooth my edges by using a knee-high at the hairline overnite…I found out by accident that it flattens edges very well …jus an option …but I agree brushes aren’t all that bad

    • Regina permalink*
      September 13, 2009 7:57 pm

      hmm. I never thought of using a knee high to smooth the edges.

Leave a Reply

