Skip to content

You Too Can Be Natural… If You Want.

August 25, 2009

flowers

I get asked quite a few questions about my natural hair when I’m out and about.  The inquirers, both naturals and not, want to know how I achieved a particular style or if my puff is real.  (When did everyone get so comfortable asking if your hair is real?)  I actually don’t mind the questions and I’m happy to ramble on about techniques, products and recipes.  My problem is when the admirer is done soaking up my little tidbits, she announces “Well, I like your hair but I couldn’t [go natural]” or an equally frustrating line, “See, my hair can’t do that”.

I’m always taken aback by this doubt.  Why are folks still being so dismissive about their own hair’s capabilities?  For the most part, if a woman has been straightening her hair for a long period of time, she may not even know her texture anymore.  She may also still be thinking about her pre-straightened childhood that may have been filled with hair care practices that weren’t doing her hair any favors like dry combing natural hair.  When I was a child, my mom was as gentle as can be, but combs were pulled through my hair without a water spritz in sight. There was no deliberate sealing in moisture.  Leave in conditioner?  Please!  If any of that was being done, I certainly don’t remember.  I started relaxing at the age of 11 and when I decided to go natural it took me years to unlock some of the secrets to my coils and I’m still learning.  I had to learn everything anew. I simply did not know my hair.

Let’s face it, doing a big chop or transitioning is a big adjustment and will require you to relearn your hair.  So, instead of women putting limits on their hair, more woman should adopt the notion that they haven’t found out what their hair can do…yet.  The last thing any woman who wants to stop straightening should do is hang on to chemical and heat straightening because she’s afraid of what her hair might be like.  Even if you remember your hair being the most unruly strand ever to go up against a comb, you should realize that this doesn’t mean that your hair will be like that now.

With blogs and forums, you now have a wealth of knowledge available to you with the click of a mouse.   So my dear naturals and the coily-curious, just take the time to find out about natural hair care and watch it flourish.  Don’t doubt your hair.

:)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2009 2:11 pm

    I agree.

    What I will never understand is how a person can’t look right with their natural features…especially when it’s only hair.

    It kind of makes me think back to a woman who wore wigs that had this belief. How she could feel that she looked right in a straight, blonde-haired wig before her own head of hair is odd. (I know of the things that could drive her to think this way, but it’s still odd.) There she was rocking a style that her DNA could never produce (with the exception of her possibly being able to give birth to a blonde-haired child), yet she would never be caught dead in her own hair?

    In my opinion, in order to be confident in whatever style you choose (straight, wavy, curly, wigs, etc), you have to at least be confident without all the extra first.

    • Regina permalink*
      August 25, 2009 8:12 pm

      You said it all right here: “What I will never understand is how a person can’t look right with their natural features”.
      Yes. It is puzzling.

  2. Ameerah permalink
    September 13, 2009 5:22 pm

    This is interesting!! My friend’s mom once asked where she could buy my hair…she thought it was a weave LOL! Men also comment about the smell…Guys seem to love to smell my hair!! It’s kinda weird but I get it alot!! I also get the “I couldn’t go natural bcuz I don’t have the type of hair” which is pretty frustrating bcuz natural hair doesn’t have to fit a mold …that’s what makes it unique and beautiful

    • Regina permalink*
      September 13, 2009 7:57 pm

      LOL @ “my friend’s mom once asked where she could buy my hair”. But seriously, I (obviously) agree. Everyone’s hair is different which is so beautiful and that should be embraced. So many people have so many ridiculous reasons about why they can’t go natural even if the really want to. It’s just not true. Any hair type can be beautiful.

Leave a Reply

