Skip to content

What My Hair Loves

August 14, 2009

skylove

I discovered so much about inexpensive hair-nourishing bits of nature like castor oil and shea butter earlier this year by (what else?) reading hair blogs and forums.  I’m far from a product junkie.   So, other then a few of  my lovely Oyin products, I keep it very simple in the product department. I’m watching my hair to learn what it likes and dislikes. Here’s a few things that I’ve learned so far:

  • My hair loves water spritzes.  Usually, I squirt some Oyin Honey Hemp Hair Conditioner into my spray bottle filled with water and use it to detangle or just give my hair a refreshing blast of moisture.  Occasionally, I’ll add some Jamaican Black Castor Oil to the water-conditioner mix.  But, sometimes I’ll use just plain ol’ water.
  • After a wash, conditioning and rinse, my twists liked to be sealed from root to tip with Oyin Whipped Shea Butter, castor oil  or Praises Kuumba Hair and Scalp Conditioner*. (I’m not sure about the availability of  this pomade.  It seems hard to find.  Mine was purchased at Watkins Health Food at 46 W. 125th Street, NYC.  Basically, it’s a petroleum free hair pomade.  It does contain some bees wax, but  my hair has responded well to it so I broke my “no bees wax” rule.)

It can easily get frustrating tying to find the best products and regime for  your hair but my thoughts are if you keep it simple, you won’t get overwhelmed.  Product junkieism is serious my dear colies. Don’t fall into that web!

*Ingredients: Expeller pressed olive oil, African shea butter, pure bees wax, select herbs, natural henna, Indian hemp, rosemary essential oil, vitamin E oil

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Kadiane*francophone permalink
    September 13, 2009 4:17 pm

    ”After a wash, conditioning and rinse, my twists liked to be sealed from root to tip with Oyin Whipped Shea Butter, castor oil or Praises Kuumba Hair and Scalp Conditioner*.”

    How do you get the product to reach the inside of the twists ? do you unravel them first ?

    Do you also unravel the twists to rinse them after the conditioning ? How do you make sure you do not find chunks of conditioner in the twists at the end ?

    I have stopped detangling my hair with conditioner before I braid it for the wash due to the chunks that stay in. For instance, i use ”just for me detangler”. it has no color and it is not heavy . I hate unraveling the hair under the shower cuz braids are not easily unravelled and big twists unravel by themselves ( hum! maybe i should do smaller twists…) I once banded them. It was better to wash out the shampoo but i did not condition so i don’t know

    • Regina permalink*
      September 13, 2009 7:52 pm

      Well, if I’m doing the quickie version then I only unravel the twists if they have come somewhat undone. Usually, I just rub the product along the length of the twists. I figure it sinks in and just don’t really worry about it getting the inside. ;)

      Also, I don’t usually unravel the twists when I’m rinsing. I just make sure that I rinse very thoroughly. I’ve never found any residual conditioner. But at times I will unravel (or sometimes the twist unravels on its own) and I rinse by rubbing that section of hair under the shower stream and retwist under the stream as well which helps keep it detangled.

      As for detangling with conditioner applied directly to the hair I just did this for the first time recently. I used VO5 Moisture Milk Strawberries and Cream and I didn’t have a problem with any conditioner being left behind, I usually just spray my hair with a water and conditioner (usually Oyin’s Honey Hemp) solution to detangle instead of directly applying so much product prior to washing.

      Lastly, maybe smaller twists might work for you. I would say that I have about 8 twist all over my head when washing etc. I would imagine the thickness of your hair would determine how many twist and what size would work for you.

  2. jess permalink
    April 21, 2010 8:08 pm

    Can we use regular Castor Oil (that’s used as a laxative) or does it have to be that unrefined version?

    Have you noticed a thickening of your hair? im not going for length, i just want “her” to be thicker :(

    • Regina permalink*
      April 22, 2010 8:32 am

      Don’t use the laxative castor oil. I like and would recommend the unrefined Jamaican black castor oil (Tropic Isle). There are other types of castor oil out there for hair if you want do some shopping around.

      For me, a bit of thickening is noticeable but nothing drastic. My hair is a tad fine.

Trackbacks

  1. The Textured Puff « Coily Crowns

Leave a Reply

