Skip to content

Protein Treatments

July 27, 2009

Not too long ago I was stalking info online for various hair treatments. A reoccurring subject was the protein treatment. Most women seemed to swear by doing regular protein treatments. I wondered if I was missing out on something by not doing one.

I read threads on Longhaircareforum.com and browsed Fotki albums where I saw Aphogee Treatment for Damaged Hair being mentioned many times. People who used this product warned that your hair will become hard and fragile during the treatment so you must be on the safe and gentle side when using Aphogee. (Check out these instructions from Mowtowngirl.com.) According to some Aphogee fans, following up a treatment with a moisturizer is a must to restore balance to your hair.

Aphogee seemed like some pretty heavy duty stuff. Hair hardening and the like just wasn’t something I wanted to deal with so I decided to wash my hair and do a homemade treatment. I grabbed an “incredible edible egg”* from my fridge and mixed it with my Nubian Heritage Coconut and Papaya Conditioner, applied it to my hair and sat with a plastic cap for 20 minutes.

egg and conditioner mixture

egg and conditioner mixture

In my opinion, it’s safe and doesn’t come with many warnings. (In fact there’s really only one warning: don’t rinse your hair with hot or warm water unless you want scrambled eggs in your strands.) After rinsing thoroughly, my hair felt strong and not hard but not particularly soft either. I slathered on my beloved Oyin Handmade Honey-Hemp Conditioner (which took care of the softness) , plaited my hair and called it a night.

Yes, eggs have protein. But I’m still not sure if my egg conditioner is doing a serious protein treatment or if a serious protein treatment is even necessary. (To check out a Q&A from The Beauty Brains.com on whether or not you need to put protein on your hair click here.) With all that said, I’ll be working this treatment into a regular monthly rotation simply because I liked it.

:)

*TM: American Egg Board

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2009 9:33 pm

    I don’t do “heavy duty” protein treatments. My hair doesn’t need it. Yes, the hair does need protein, but Aphogee seems way too strong, (in my opinion), for hair that is not chemically relaxed/peroxide colored. Aphogee makes a green tea spray leave-in, that’s REALLY nice and doesn’t make my hair hard. I was a faithful Aphogee protein user, back in the day when I lyed.

    I use deep conditioners, with protein…and along with moisturizing leave-ins, it’s just enough to keep a healthy balance for my hair. But, as I always say, know your hair and do what’s best for it.

    • Regina permalink*
      September 24, 2009 9:41 pm

      Thanks for the info. Yes, I was trying to understand the whole protein-moisture balance situation. I’ll have some more posts about it. I have no plans on using any heavy duty treatments. I’ll look into this spray. I’d agree that knowing your hair is most important.

  2. September 13, 2010 7:11 am

    Do you like Nubian Heritage Coconut and Papaya Conditioner? Is it moisturizing? Does it have slip?

    • Regina permalink*
      September 13, 2010 8:58 am

      No, I am not a fan of the Coconut and Papaya Conditioner. I was only using it for hair treatment mixes so slip wasn’t something I was even paying attention to so I can’t say. I also wouldn’t call it moisturizing. I used as much as I could to finish it and never repurchased it.

Trackbacks

  1. Coconut Oil. Yay or Nay? « Coily Crowns

Leave a Reply

