Skip to content

Sealing with Castor Oil

June 18, 2009

Moisture is so very important in maintaining the health of natural hair. It wasn’t until recently that I began sealing my ends with oil after washing and deep conditioning to lock in moisture and prevent brittle and dry ends. My oil of choice is Tropic Isle Jamaican Black Castor Oil, even though it has a bit of a burnt bitter nut smell; I like the fact that it is unrefined. The scent doesn’t linger for too long. Many people choose other oils or creams to seal such as olive oil or some plain old shea butter. It’s all a matter of preference, so like anything else in this natural journey you have to find what works well for you. I use castor oil because I remember my hair responding well to castor oil based products during my childhood.

I can’t stress enough how important I believe this step to be. Had I known about sealing a little earlier in my natural odyssey, I may have saved myself some breakage, retained more length and maintained the overall health of my hair.

Well, now sealing is part of my usual wash routine. After washing, deep conditioning and ACVing my hair. I put some castor oil on my fingertips and rub it into the ends of my twists. (As I wrote in an earlier post, my hair is usually in twists from start to finish during my wash routine.) I repeat this making sure that not one twist was neglected and my sealing step is all done. Easy! Make no excuses coilies. Add sealing to your routine if you haven’t already.

Regina :)
**update**
P.S. NYC ladies you can purchase Jamaican Black Castor Oil at Nicholas Variety at 5 East 125th Street. They sell 4 oz bottles for $6.

Leave a Reply

